Living in the Grey

guarding your heart: No, my life isn’t that bad, if that’s what you thought when you looked at my post title. This morning, we went to our newly [being] constructed church building. we havn’t got the brick on yet, so, you know, it was wraped in that grey plastic stuff.

While I was there, I was speaking with one of my brothers (in Christ). He told me that he had caught himself several times over the week doing things such as chores out of pride rather than love. It set me to thinking. Do you strive do all that you do for Christ sake?  If you are like me, you discipline yourself to keep your thoughts constantly on Christ. But at every sinful thought, every cruel word, every prideful act, you feel you conscience slaps you in the face. “What are you doing?!  remember what Christ has done for you!”. Believe me, I am grateful to God for my conscience. But when you feel yourself looking away from God, it is a human habit to despair. But then, it is as if God comes to you [me] and tells you: “My child, look away from your sin, and look at my mercy. Those times when you stumble have already been piad for.”

the great depression:  I just finished ‘The Children of Hurin’ by Tolkien. If you are skeptical about reading this book, don’t be. It is not only a beautiful (albeit depresing)  story, but it is full of first-age history for Tolkien fans. If you have read the tale in ‘The Silmarilion’, you still shouldn’t hesitate to read this one. I recomend the Alan Lee illoustrated edition, if you can offord it.  If you read it you will be sucked in by the endearing characters, plus the unbelievable paintings.

  1. #1 by Emma on January 6, 2008 - 11:39 pm

    Hey little brother . . . um. . . Flinding! I think you mean first age history. Sorry, the urge to correct younger siblings is at times too strong.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

