book studies, third fists, and shrinking mars.

welcome back: hi there. Welcome to my first post in oh so long a time (about eight days). I admit it is due to complete laziness on my part, for there has been no lack of things to blog about (even so, I am writing this rather slowly since I can’t keep the screen saver off). For one thing, we are holding a Sunday night book study on the book Communion with God at our house. It has been very helpful thus far (though the language style is nothing short of brain boggling). I really enjoy those books which help me in growing closer to God. Though I haven’t finished Communion yet, and I and I find myself reading the same chapter over and over again before I understand it, it seems as though it will be extremely helpful, accompanied by the study.Other books I am going through: I usually have certain books that I read for devotionals, and others that I use as I go throughout the day. My study books include: J.C. Ryle’s Expository Thoughts on the Gospels; a devotional collection from Jonathan Edwards; and Thomas A Kempis’ Imitation of Christ. Other books include Ryle’s Practical Religion and the celebrated A. W. Tozer’s Pursuit of God. I am grateful that God has given me all these good books. With them and his word, I try to lay good foundations while I am still young.

Tongue tamers: ‘He has a third fist in his chin’ Hugh  told me in praise of Chuck Norris. Yes, it sounds like fair nonsense to me, too. But one thing I wills say. Most of us have a third fist in our face. Only on us it is our tongue. Think about it. Think of every time you have said something that hurts others, and regretted it later. How can you stop this. The bible gives lots of advice on this subject. Some good verses:Prov. 13:3; prov. 29:20; prov. 18:13; Matt. 12:36; Eph. 4:29; prov. 15:23: prov. 21:23; prov. 15:1,4; prov 17:28; prov. 18:8; 1 Pet. 3:10; James 1:26

Republican nationalism: by the way, this next paragraph does not contain any negative references to any of the republican presidential candidates.I was listening to Christian radio the other day (now you know my shame),and I heard a man raving about one of the republican presidential hopefuls for several minutes. So far so normal. Then he made a shocking statement: “I am supporting F— T—— in the republican primary, but I will support whoever the republican party nominates.” I was shocked beyond anything. But so it is with millions of evangelical Christians. They might vote Huckabee, or even Paul. But they will support whoever calls himself republican in the end. So I say, to those who vote, if you are thinking of compromising simply because ‘the democrat is really bad’, that it is better to seek an alternative, or write someone in, than to take responsibility for a bad president.

shrinking mars: one of my favorite Lego lines, Mars Mission,  just revealed some of their new sets. They seem fine, except the Mini Robot and The Alien Jet. There is nothing wrong with them except that they are horrifically small. They may be worth for small scale M.M. fans, but if they are priced anywhere over four dollars, it will be robbery.

Note to my readers (if I have any): when I started this blog, I said I might post something you like. If you don’t like what you’re seeing, leave me a comment [there goes that screen saver again, and I didn’t even stop typing]. Tell me what you want to talk about, and I may talk about it. Believe, I am not as narrow minded as you might think.

  1. #1 by Malach on January 28, 2008 - 11:39 am

    Hey. Jacob. I really like your blog. I can tell you put a lot of work into it. Keep it up.

  2. #2 by RileyDad on February 11, 2008 - 5:21 pm

    ” Note to my readers (if I have any): when I started this blog, I said I might post something you like. If you don’t like what you’re seeing, leave me a comment [there goes that screen saver again, and I didn’t even stop typing]. Tell me what you want to talk about, and I may talk about it. Believe, I am not as narrow minded as you might think.”

    Don’t get discouraged, son. People are reading. . . . you need to get a counter.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

