swanky new header, eh? (oh, don’t forget to read the post.)

Old journal entries: as I was going through my ‘journal’ earlier, I came across this entry:

“Oh death, why hath not thou come for me?”

‘Where on earth did that come from?’ I thought. Then I remembered. That was at a time, a few days back, when I was going through some spiritual pain. Still, I felt heartily ashamed for ever writing such an entry. Immediately after reading that, I added under it:

“When I penned those words, I was in a state of spiritual discontent, vividly seeing my sin. Oh, wretched soul, when will that day be when you can look away from what you have done to your miserable self, and see what Christ has done for you?”

And later under that:

“Let my spirit rise against me, if it dare, and call me sinner. Then will I say ‘be quiet. I am, not on earth, but before the Father, perfect, not because of anything I have done, but because of my precious saviour.’ ”

 

Oh, how the sight of my sin brings me pain! May God have mercy on me.

A few prayers from Tozer:

Oh God, I have tasted thy goodness, and it has both satisfied me and made me hungry for more. I am painfully conscious of my lack of desire. O God, the Triune God, I want to want thee; I long to be filled with longing, I thirst to be made more thirsty still. Show me they Glory, I pray thee, that I may know thee indeed. Begin in mercy a new work of love within me. Say to my soul, “ Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.” Then give me grace to rise and follow Thee up from this misty lowland, where I have wandered so long. In Jesus name. Amen.

 

Father, I want to know Thee, but my cowardly heart fears to give up it’s toys. I cannot part with them without inward bleeding, and do not try to hide from Thee the terror of the parting. I come trembling, but I do come. Please root from my heart all those things which I have cherished so long and which and which have become a very part of my living self, so that Thou mayst enter in and dwell without a rival. Then shalt Thou make the place of Thy feet glorious. Then shall my heart have no need of the sun to shine in it, for Thyself wilt be the light of it, and there shall be no night there. In Jesus name. Amen.

  1. #1 by flinding on February 9, 2008 - 5:44 pm

    dad-gum. i know there are some people readin this blog, so comment, will ya?
    sorry.

  2. #2 by ellie16 on February 9, 2008 - 9:56 pm

    yeah, this header is alot better than your old one (it was cool, but too grainy).
    I can way relate to you- in reading my journal, I often find that I have written at times and been so blind to what God was doing in my life. It is so much easier looking back at times, because we can see how God was acting in marvelous ways in our lives/ the lives of those around us, even though at the time it seemed like He was so far away (but He wasn’t! He was standing there, holding us up!)
    m. ellen riley
    2008

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

