an accidental post

For lack of something else to say: so I sit down at my computer, and I say to myself, “I want to write a post.” but I had nothing to write about. So I saw a Bible lying next to me, and I thought I would see what there was in it to write about. Oddly enough, I stumbled upon Job 36:11.

“If they [you] obey and serve Him, they shall spend their days in prosperity, and their years in pleasure.”

Well what does that mean? well, it is obvious the ‘Him’ referred to is God. But lets look at this verse

Prosperity: “Well,” you say. “Not all people who serve God (Christians) are rich.” I beg to differ. They may not be rich in earthly treasures, which are so fleeting that they are not worth the time and effort it takes to build them up, but they do have something far greater. They have the riches of eternity, given to them as an inheritance by the precious Son of the one who owns all things. They have the riches of grace poured down upon them. “Well,” you say. “you can’t buy anything with that.” And I would be a fool to spend it. But, if you will allow me to be cliché, the best treasures are the ones you share. And though I would never ‘spend’ the riches of grace, it is an easy thing to share them, once you have them.

“Return unto thy rest, O my soul; for the Lord hath dealt bountifully with you.” Psalm 116:7

Pleasure: “Now there is no way you can say that Christians have pleasure,” you object. “I mean, isn’t the entire point of Christianity to not have pleasure?” Well, if you are talking about worldly pleasure, we are not to seek after it. But to say that Christians don’t enjoy pleasure is absurd. I see Christians having pleasure in the first verse. It says “Obey and serve him”. surely there can be no greater pleasure, than to serve God. Another pleasure would be reading God’s word, and have the Spirit show you the meaning. Another is praying, another telling others about Christianity. “Nonsense,” you say. “these are not pleasures. These are burdens.” O, my friend, wrong you are, grievously wrong. In doing these things, we are able to meet with the Father, and Son, and have sweet fellowship through the spirit. If you can do this throughout your life, you most certainly have pleasure.

  1. #1 by RileyDad on February 16, 2008 - 9:25 pm

    Jacob,

    Thank you for seeking to Glorify Christ & point others to Him through your blog.

    These are very basic Truths & comforts, but those outside of Christ cannot see them and many inside Christ will not.

    May He continue to give you more of Himself, grow you in Grace & Wisdom, and “prosper” you through the rest of your life.

    Dad
    http://www.lesriley.net
    http://www.RileyforAg.com

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

