late birthday post

Happy birthday, Emily!: today*, February 19, is Emily’s birthday. Just two decades ago, in the eighty and eighth year of the twentieth century, She was born, at I-am not-sure-where, at I-don’t-know-when.When I look at Emily, I see an irritating, nervous girl. But when I see Christ in her, I see an image of holiness. Emily has been striving to live for Christ and be a perfect picture of biblical womanhood for as long as I remember.

I am sure that I could never conjure up anyone in my mind who make a better older sister than her. She is an excellent housekeeper, and she would be ever as ready to do a task as ask anyone else to do it. She is an expert at doing laundry and at cooking. Now that I think about it, she is the third best cook I have ever tasted, excepting only my mom and Ms. Cathy. Her cornbread is exceptional.

One of the most outstanding things about Emily is that she is an invaluable aid to our mother in training the little ones. Most people think that raising nine kids, young and old, would be a near death experience. But my mother did such an unbelievable job of raising Emily that she is now able to help her in teaching the little girls and disciple them in there ‘beautiful girlhood’.

Emily is the number one big sister on the planet, and may she grow in the Lord throughout this coming year.

Some extra comments:

For one of my readers: six games of ping-pong. (you know what I am talking about.)

Better post later: keep looking throughout this week. I plan to make some more worthwhile post later on, for I have a huge amount of raw material in my mind, just waiting to become a blog post [s].

note to readers: sit down and read some Tolkien.

Tozer for today:

Lord, how excellent are thy ways, and how devious and dark are the ways of man. Show us how to die, that we may rise again to the newness of life. Rend the veil of our self-life as thou didst rend the veil of the temple. We would draw near in full assurance of faith. We would dwell with thee in daily experience here on earth so that we may be accustomed to the glory when thy heaven to dwell with thee there. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Thought for today: Were God not unending, were he not unsearchable, were he not vaster than all knowledge, than eternity would lose all of it’s value. We would sing God’s praise for a little while, then all subjects of praise would be exhausted, and heaven would become little better than hell. O, how we should be grateful that God is everything he says he is, and can be measured by neither time nor eternity.

*when I first began this post, it was still Feb. 19. But my dad needed the computer.

  1. #1 by Malachi on February 21, 2008 - 10:30 am

    Happy B-Day, Emily!

  2. #2 by RileyDad on February 21, 2008 - 7:59 pm

    Is this original to you ?

    ” Thought for today: Were God not unending, were he not unsearchable, were he not vaster than all knowledge, than eternity would lose all of it’s value. We would sing God’s praise for a little while, then all subjects of praise would be exhausted, and heaven would become little better than hell. O, how we should be grateful that God is everything he says he is, and can be measured by neither time nor eternity.”

    Outstanding insight, son. The Lord is truly showing His kindness to you.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

