a long post that says little

mountain of God: as I was looking through some Mr Roberts notes that I had taken, I came across this brief quote, “its not how you start, but how you finish.” pretty simple statement, right? Yes. But it carries a hidden message that we often overlook these days. I remembered a time, a while back, when my brother (Trey) and I were in our room, listening to the song ‘Mountain of God’ (Third Day), and Trey remarked, “this song is a whole lot different than any other modern Christian music. With all those references to ‘the journey’ and ‘the valley’, it emphasizes the walk of a believer in Christ, whereas most Christians like to stress ’the leap’ and the time they ’first found love’. it is not an exact quote, but it is the just of what he was saying. But it is something utterly foreign to us.

In our modern age of Christian novels and singing Christmas trees, we enjoy these long, hyper romantic conversion stories, that always end in the beginning. They give us a great deal of information about the main characters life before they are converted, because that tends to be more thrilling and emotional, yet they leave off the most exciting part. They don’t tell us about the new believers walk with Christ. We want to read about the road to Damascus, but we don’t want to read Corinthians. We want to read about Martin Luther’s conversion, and sing ‘Almighty Fortress’, but we don’t want to hear about the spiritual battles Luther fought, or read his sermons.

Now, I do not mean to degrade conversion stories, because they can be extremely beautiful to hear, and they show us a great deal about the grace and mercy of our precious Lord and Savior. I want to hear conversion stories. But I don’t want to stop there! I want to hear how the Lord builds a person up, and takes them on the path toward holiness. I want to hear about the joy they have at hearing of their Savior, but just as much I want to hear about the joy they have in serving him. I would rather read Practicing the Prescience of God by Brother Lawrence, then see a dozen ‘singing Christmas trees’ that always tell the same story. but these days there just aren’t that many stories about the believers life. There are probably several reasons why this is so, but let me give one in particular. These days, the idea of living for Christ after conversion is either seen as a completely foreign idea, or as an option. The fact that we, and churches especially, put so much emphasis on conversion shows a very low view of Christianity. We are locked in a get-saved-fast mentality, and we tend to forget to leave conversions in God’s hands. I am so sick of hearing preachers on the T.V., the radio, and in Churches all across the nation (America), saying ‘I want you to repeat this little prayer after me’. and all so they can hand in their revival report cards and sell booklets.

However good any conversion story may be, it will never be as beneficial as the story that comes afterward. I always like reading the stories of missionaries preachers and such, because of what I can learn from their example. But we might not think that such books are good to read because they carry with them a certain sense of guilt about yourself. This is mandatory. It may not be right, but we have all felt it sometime or the other.

Maybe sometime later I will expand on this subject by telling you about the “Sherwood” picture of living for Jesus. For now I guess I ought to stop.

I will follow up on this drastically dull post by giving you some us News. But for now…

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

