enchanting friday

egg friday: today is what is called Good Friday. It’s the day when we finish all of our Easter shopping , so we can spend Easter Sunday going and hunting for eggs with our relatives. Right?

I looked in the encyclopedia for the definition of Easter and Good Friday. Easter, most scholars believe, comes from the Anglo-Saxon name of the goddess Eastre, goddess of I-am-not-going-to-say. Somehow this became the name of a Christian holiday, on which they celebrate Christ’s resurrection. Good Friday is said to be an abuse God’s Friday, so entitled simply because it comes a few days before Easter.

So if Easter is named after a pagan goddess, why do Christian celebrate it? I don’t really know, but I am fairly certain it has roots in catholic traditions. Here’s another question: Why do Christian need to set aside a certain day to celebrate Christ’s resurrection? Shouldn’t that be every day? I personally think it should. Not to say that we should give away candy and white bunnies hunt eggs every day. I have no idea where that idea came from. Maybe the pagan Anglo-Saxons had an overabundance of eggs. Emily says no.

Oh, well. I not writing this to tell you what’s wrong with Easter. It is a good idea to have a special Sunday set aside to particularly celebrate the resurrection, and to take communion, and have a large meal at church. I guess Easter is as good a day as any. And besides, I like the chance to get together with family, even thought I must endure the eggs and bunnies. I don’t suppose we are going to do away with the traditions of Easter any time soon, which is alright, as long as we retain control of ourselves with the white chocolate bunnies.

But more to the point. Easter is a season we as Christians can take huge advantage of. Most people have at least a vague idea that Easter is in someway used by Christians to celebrate the resurrection of Christ. And even non-Christians will refer to Jesus in their cards and conversations during that time. This season, it would be a good idea to encourage fellow Christians to think of why the resurrection is important to us, and to ask non-Christians: What does Jesus rising from the dead mean to you?

Well, that’s my little bit for the day. I went ahead and wrote a post on Easter today, because on Sunday I plan to gather wisdom from other and better sources, and do an all-out Easter Quotathon.

in review: Enchanted was ridiculous. It was goofy, it had a terrible ending, it was sissy. It was just, over all, an awful movie…….I watched it three times.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, or the previews for it, the movie begins in a typical Disney Princess setting, only funnier and with better animation. It has the girl who makes friends with all the animals. It has the handsome Prince, his evil stepmother who has to come up with an excuse to hate the girl, the cute little chipmunk, yada yada yada. And of course, the movie begins in a setting where the girl, under the unusual name of Giselle, is waiting for her prince (who turns out to be named Edward), meets him, and is going to marry him, all before ten minutes are up. How goofy. But there is a twist when the evil stepmother (disguised as an old woman, of course) pushes the Giselle (who is about to marry the Edward [of course]) down a magical well that takes her to live action New York City. That’s where the movie takes a definite turn for the better. Whilst seeking Prince Edward in the streets, Giselle is befriended by an divorce lawyer (Robert) and his daughter. What follows is are hilarious two days as Giselle waits for Edward, whilst Edward’s attempts to find her are all foiled by the Stepmother’s evil henchman Nathaniel, while Nathaniel’s attempts to poison Giselle with apples is being foiled by the chipmunk Pip. While all that is going on, Giselle spends her time singing and trying to convince Robert that happily ever afters do exist.

I won’t tell you any more than that for the sake of the people who haven’t seen the movie yet. Now, you ask me why I watched it three times? I got sucked in.

I think movies like that are made a little too well these days. The first time I watched Enchanted, I was so exasperated by the ending that I said about ten times over “that was terrible!! The best thing about it was the previews.” (which, by the way, were awesome). But I still watched it again. By the second time, I had more or less accepted the ending that had before made me dislike it so much. But I noticed that the movie makers were using music and singing and up close shot of the actors faces (Giselle was incredibly cast) to manipulate the audience’s emotions…..I guess I shouldn’t go on or I might give something away.

Enchanted is a funny movie with an overdose of romance. The special effects are not top floor, but they are good for this Genre. Overall, it not as worth seeing as the new National Treasure. But if you are a fan of Disney Princess, you will probably like this movie. And if you despise Disney Princess, you will probably like this movie all the more.

  1. #1 by RileyDad on March 22, 2008 - 5:33 am

    Great points about “Ishtar”, son.

    I only watched the movie once.

    Dad

  2. #2 by Katie on March 24, 2008 - 9:24 am

    I guess I shouldn’t venture to say that I rather liked Enchanted. Sure, it was reeaallllllly silly, but I just have a soft spot in my heart for fairy tale, everybody-gets-the-perfect-ending sort of story, and Enchanted certainly gave everyone that. I always get cracked up at how it ” just happens” that a person such as Edward, who obviously needs to get out of the way for Giselle and Robert, conveniently falls in love with Robert’s girl-friend, so that Robert can marry Giselle without pangs of conscience. Oh, Hollywood has spoiled us dreadfully! It’s pitiful. So, there’s my conclusion about Hollywood in a nut shell. 🙂 But I did like Enchanted.

  3. #3 by ellie16 on March 24, 2008 - 10:04 am

    Hey! Cool! I didn’t know you could make those smiley guys! Thanks Katie 🙂 😦 😕 😉

  4. #4 by flinding on March 24, 2008 - 12:40 pm

    Katie,
    I think Giselle didn’t deserve him anyway. And since the Prince was so big on impulsive romance, it worked out perfectly.

  5. #5 by ellie16 on March 24, 2008 - 1:11 pm

    I LOVED the movie too.
    ~ellie

    p.s. I didn’t write the above comment (smiley guys)- I think it was from Momma.

  6. #6 by Malachi on March 24, 2008 - 4:42 pm

    Not that I’m going to see the movie, but all work that Jacob put forth not to ruin the movie was ruined. Thanks, Katie….

  7. #7 by flinding on March 25, 2008 - 4:53 pm

    Malachi,
    Sorry, I don’t know what I was thinking. Forgive my ignorance.

    Jake.

  8. #8 by Hannah on April 4, 2008 - 2:48 pm

    Well, unlike Malachi I do want to see the the movie, or should I say did. Now I know what happens…Katie…

  1. O.K. so I know it’s been awhile… « Celebrate A Simple Life

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

