my ideals

I-deal day: get up at about six. Pray, read Bible, (select passage). Spend about ten minutes in the bathroom. Eat a quick breakfast. Do schoolwork (I know, not very ideal). Have personal bible study (I find it is better to do this after schoolwork, so its easier to concentrate). Eat dinner. Clean up yard and house. Write in my notebook. Write a blog post. Do some yard\landscaping work. Work-out while listening to Third Day. Write some more in my notebook. Play around with my sketchbook. Read some Henty and some Tolkien. Eat some supper. Read some more. Play with Legos. Stay up and write in my notebook while waiting for the light to be turned out. Go to bed at about ten. All in under thirty-six hours.

I-deal birthday: wake up between nine and ten. Have a good breakfast. Read. Write. Snack. Hang out on the computer. Eat dinner. Play with Legos while listening to music, and then sitting in the recliner while watching Lord of the Rings or Sense and Sensibility. Go out to eat for supper, then rent a good action movie on the way home. Stay up till exactly twelve.

I-deal meal: on special occasions, Steak or Seafood. On normal days, Pot Pie or Gumbo. Side dishes should include corn, mashed potatoes, corn, okra or asparagus, corn, butter beans and some corn.

I-deal bar-b-que: lots of good food, maybe some home made ice cream and tea and lemonade. Sports would include ping-pong, football, volley ball, and Frisbee. When it gets dark, we should sit around a huge bonfire and roast marsh mellows and get very hot and sticky. When it gets even later, sit around a modest campfire and sing and fellowship with brothers and sisters in Christ.

I-deal websites to visit: see left.

I-deal size for a family: nine. For now. (just kidding. Really its anywhere between 5 and 8,000,000,000.)

I-deal website: I’m still working on that one. Check again in three years.

I-deal vacation spots: New Zealand, the British isles, Antarctica, Amazon rain forest, Australia, Kentucky.

I-deal favourite place to be: Home, wherever, whenever, and whatever that may be.

Tozer [for today]:

O God, be Thou exalted over all my possessions. Nothing of earth’s treasures shall seem dear unto me if only Thou art glorified in my life. Be Thou exalted over my friendships. I am determined that Thou shalt be above all, though I stand deserted and alone in the midst of the earth. Be Thou exalted above my comforts. Though it mean the loss of bodily comforts, and the carrying of heavy crosses, I shall keep my vow made this day before Thee. Be Thou exalted over my reputation. Make me ambitious to please Thee even if as a result I must sink into obscurity and my name b forgotten as a dream. Rise, O Lord, into Thy proper place of honour, above my ambitions, above my likes and dislikes, above my family, my health and even my life itself. Let me sink that Thou mayest rise above. Rise forth upon me as thou didst ride into Jerusalem, mounted upon the humble little beast, a colt, the foal of an ass, and let me hear the children cry to Thee, “Hosanna in the Highest.”

Amen.

 

  1. #1 by RileyDad on April 5, 2008 - 8:41 pm

    ” I-deal favourite place to be: Home, wherever, whenever, and whatever that may be.”

    Amen, son.

  2. #2 by Emily on June 22, 2010 - 11:22 am

    I-deal meal:
    What, no injera?!

    I-deal website:

    You’ve got 11 months left. I’ll be checking back this time next year.

    I-deal vacation spots:

    What, no Ethiopia?!

    I-deal favourite place to be: Home, wherever, whenever, and whatever that may be.

    What, no Ethiopia?!

    And I suspect iDeal birthday has changed too, Mr YIKESIJUSTREALISEDYOURETURNINGSEVENTEENNEXTWEEKAAAAAUUUUGGGHHHHHIFEELOLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Lobbying for a set of new-and-improved iDeals to be posted on this blog.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

