good times and bad

beware the good times: God is faithful at all times, even when we’re not. We think it is good to remember that God is there when things aren’t going well (which it is). Whenever things are going bad, we can and should run to God for help. When the storms raged around him, Peter saw Christ, and leapt from the boat to go to him. Peter was, along with the other disciples, in the very shadow of death. At any moment, the boat might have been dashed upon the rocks, or capsized. But Peter looked to Jesus and saw hope.
But, there was also a time when the same Peter was acting like he was equal with Christ. Or something like that. He acted like he was Christ’s counsellor, when he rebuked him after he had been prophesying his death.

I am afraid that we are all like Peter at some point[s]. to often we find it easier to look to Christ in the bad times than in the good. William Mason puts it this way: “We are prone to be elated with pride at our good frames, and dejected to distress at our bad ones.” We need to remember that we needed Christ as much when he blesses us as when we don’t feel very blessed. But we like to think, “Well, now I am somebody indeed; now the Lord loves me truly; surely he loves me better, now I find myself so sweet, and feel myself so comfortable.”* you and I both probably know how this is. When you get recognition of people around you, or write a really good blog post, or when things are just going good all around you, or when you feel good on the inside, these sorts of thoughts are very easy to allow in. Oh, how great human pride is! How blessed would it be, when we could be just as indifferent to all about ourselves no mater how things are going. But we are weak humans. We need God’s help to remember him, as soon as it feels like he has ‘remembered’ us (if I may use the expression).

It is a blessed feeling, when, after you’ve have just been in the depths of spiritual despair, God reminds you of himself, and your soul is revived. But it is easier to fall from peaks than valleys, and I feel just as grateful to God for the hard places as for the easy. When learn to lean more on him when we realize that there is nothing within us to lean to.

the flipside: on the other hand, sometimes when things go good, we find it easier to praise God than when they go bad. Now I know that seems that a clear contradiction, and to be honest, I don’t have any more idea of where I’m going with this post than you do. But bear with me. You see, there are times when we lose our focus spiritually, and we have a conscious feeling of lacking. At that times we cannot help but run to God, begging for his mercy. But at other times, when we are put through physical trials, or worse when things don’t go the way we think they should, sometimes we can get irritated with God. We know he has an eternal plan, but our heart we wish that it were easier. We must remember that God is the same loving and faithful God no matter what we’re going through. We shouldn’t let ourselves think that our circumstances can change God. We need to learn to “Praise Him in The Storm.”**

summary: since, as I said before, I don’t know where this is headed, I guess I should move on. Let me just wrap it up with this: we should daily practice total dependence on God, no matter what our situation.

I have almost exhausted my supply of Tozer prayers, but maybe I can just start over again when I am done:

Lord, make me childlike. Deliver me from the urge to compete with another for place or prestige or position. I would be simple and artless as a little child. Deliver me from pose and pretense. Forgive me for thinking of myself. Help me to forget myself and find true peace in beholding Thee. That Thou mayest answer this prayer I humble myself before Thee. Lay upon me Thy easy yoke of self-forgetfulness that through it I may find rest. Amen.

Check the galleryJ

*William Mason, The Believers Pocket Companion. **see tomorrow’s post.
Click
 

 

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

