literally literature

Lately in literature: a few days ago, as I was randomly typing down blog stuff, my sister (Emily) came to me and said, “You know Jake, if you want comments on your blog, you should write a post about literature.” she observed that all of her most commented on post were about this subject.
O.K., but what I have to say probably wouldn’t be any good, since I haven’t read the famous (or infamous) Wives and Daughters. And I’m not going to any time soon. I once told Emily that before I would bring myself to read Gaskell, I would break down and read Dickens. I have always professed that I would never touch a Dickens book. And up to this point, I haven’t.

Unfortunately, I feel I am being sucked in anyway. I am already planning on reading The Pickwick Papers, despite my promise to myself. You see, I once found myself alone at the table eating dinner (the noon meal), and there happened to be a copy of the afore mentioned book lying there. I thought I could flip through while I was eating and not be in any danger. I was wrong. After reading the Mad Man’s Manuscript, I was fixed. The Pickwick Papers (if Pastor John finishes it in time) is now number three on my list of ‘need to read’ (number four is probably *gasp* Wives and Daughters).

But I still will not even start on that till I am finished with The Silmarillion. and I can’t read that till Emily is done with it. So I am stuck with 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Which is an okay book, in it’s own way. But it’s nothing to a Tolkien book.

So, on my list (for entertainment): Finish 20,000 Leagues, and then read The Silmarillion, The Pickwick Papers, and Wives and Daughters. It’s a wonder I have time to blog.

Tozer’s piece:

Lord, I would trust Thee completely; I would be altogether Thine; I would exalt Thee above all. I desire that I may feel no sense of possessing anything outside of Thee. I want constantly to be aware of Thy overshadowing presence and to hear Thy speaking voice. I long to live in restful sincerity of heart. I want to live so fully in the Spirit that all my thoughts may be as sweet incense ascending to Thee and every act of my life may be an act of worship. Therefore I pray in the words of Thy great servant of old, “I beseech Thee so for to cleanse the intent of mine heart with the unspeakable gift of Thy grace, that I may perfectly love Thee and worthily praise Thee.” And all this I confidently Thou wilt grant me through the merits of Jesus Christ Thy Son.

Amen.

Esteemed reader: this marks the last of the prayers in The Pursuit of God. I will probably move to Samuel Rutherford after this. But before I do, I ask this of you: that when you read these prayers, you won’t just skim them and say “Yeah, that sounds nice,” but that you would think on them and consider the lessons that they carry. It is my opinion that they, short though they be, are unmatched in beauty and sincerity by any Christian works of the nineteenth, twentieth, or twenty-first century. Or at least as far as I have read.

I can’t believe I did this: you know you in a rich neighbourhood when…

You have to wipe your feet before stepping on the sidewalk…

The playground is made out of stone…

The dogs are chased by the squirrels…

For every kid, there are three piano teachers…

The Wal-Marts only sell products made in Italy…

The most prominent building in town is Starbucks…

There is landscaping around the dumpster…

And landscaping around the landscaping…

All the radio towers are built underground…

The ‘for sale’ signs at houses are all digital.

The gallery has been upgraded. And there was something else… oh yeah, its only three weeks till Prince Caspian comes out.

 

 

  1. #1 by amongchosenones on April 24, 2008 - 7:43 pm

    I thought you wanted to read
    20,000 Leagues Under The Sea, Jacob

    Hannah Brandon

  2. #2 by Katie on April 25, 2008 - 5:46 pm

    Hey, I’m all about the most prominent building being a Starbucks! And landscaping around the dumpster…. I’m pretty sure that would be a great improvement. Do read W&D; it’s fantastic!! ( I hate most of Dicken’s novels, but I do want to read the Pickwick Papers, because I’ve heard they are happier than the rest of his gloomy, dark, desperate, un-happy, un-pleasant, dreary books. 🙂 )

    ~Katie

  3. #3 by flinding on April 25, 2008 - 9:11 pm

    Katie,
    I didn’t say the Starbucks thing was wrong….
    I think you are TOTALLY right about Dickens.
    flinding

  4. #4 by ellie16 on April 25, 2008 - 9:23 pm

    O.K. so I guess alot of people agree with y’all about Dickens… I wouldn’t really call myself a Dickens fan but I don’t think he’s so awful as people like to make out. I LOVE Nicolas Nickleby (although horrible ending and you’ve got to overlook all that- I admit- dark stuff), and the Pickwick Papers. Everyone doesn’t have to agree, but D0 read the Pickwick Papers, if only for the entertainment (and, of course, for Samivel Veller)
    ~ellie

    bn nnyy c fbnhgmvc hfghjkkjjhggkkjjh [Mercy’s little addition]

  5. #5 by emmawoodhouse on April 28, 2008 - 8:13 pm

    Well, I’m afraid I don’t agree about Dickens. Yeah, there’s a lot of ‘dark stuff’ (how exactly did the word come to be used that way?), but all of them have some bits of humour or some endearing portrayal of the beauty of everyday life–except Oliver Twist, which has some of the most annoying characters in literature in it.
    ~Emma

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

