a much-needed update

oops: I meant to put his up tuesday, but i forgot to press the publish button.
what I’ve been doing lately: I haven’t done one of these for a while. But I guess you have to be updated every once and a while. So…
schoolwork: I been doing the usual: math, reading a biography, biblical history, spelling and grammar; I ’m supposed to be getting new science books sometime soon, but since I have sort of completed my yearly allotment on the subject, I may or may not do them.

reading: I am still reading through Expository Thoughts, by Ryle; I am reading through an excellent work called Night of Weeping, Morning of Joy, by Horatius Bonar; now that I have got the laptop, I plan to spend a little money more on books. The ones I really want are God’s pursuit of Man, by A.W. Tozer, and Holiness, by J.C. Ryle. I haven’t really read any fiction since I finished with 20,000 Leagues; my Mom is in the middle of Wives and Daughters, Pastor John still has The Pickwick Papers, and Emily still holds the Silmarillion. I’ll soon probably start on a Henty book to tide me over.

hal: that’s our laptop. I’ve been hanging out with him a lot, playing a few games and writing my book.

adoption: the best place for news on that is my Mom’s Blog. There is a baby that we’re one of the candidates for (it’s a boy!), but there are two other families that also are wanting him. The time of waiting has me terribly anxious, though I try to hide it. Pray for us…

chicken killing: as far as work goes, I have been massacring chickens at our friends house lately. It’s the closest thing I have to a job around this time. Maybe some day I’ll describe the killing process to you (evil laughter).

movies: we’re doing a Friday night countdown till Prince Caspian comes out. Trey and I have been watching Gods and Generals and Luther. The movie Bella just came out, so we’ll probably watch that soon.

music: the usual. Third Day, Rich Mullins, Casting Crowns. I heard a copy CD from an upcoming group called Sojourn. They’re pretty good, and one of the guys working with the is someone we know personally. Maybe we can get an autograph.

blog posts: see below.

Rutherford quote: If your Lord call you to suffering, be not dismayed; there shall be a new allowance of the King for you when ye when you come to it. One of the softest pillows Christ hath is laid under his witnesses head, though often they must set down their bare feet among thorns.

 

 

  1. #1 by Papaw on May 10, 2008 - 7:19 am

    If you tell HAL to open the door and he says “I’m sorry, I can’t do that Dave” youv’e got problems.

  2. #2 by flinding on May 10, 2008 - 2:27 pm

    I’m glad I’m not Dave. that would be awful.
    Who’s Dave?
    thanks for the comment.
    Flinding

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

