proverbs thrity-one, sameul rutherford, and … gold?

mum’s day: giving birth to and raising nine kids… staying in a hospital for three months for the ninth… living for more than twenty years amongst griping, selfish, ungrateful little kids…living almost in poverty at times… pursuing an adoption against the most incredible odds… and remaining faithful to god and her husband through it all. Not many women could do this. But my mom has.

I have never met anyone else like my mom. She raised me, and the other eight, in love and has brought us up in an environment where we could learn about the Lord, and she has administered to me more spankings than I can count,. Not that I didn’t deserve them. (Yes, even I needed spanking, every once and a while. But that was a long time ago. Everyone needs disciplining every once and a while. And my mom has now begun to see the fruits of her laboursJ .) this May, why don’t you sit back for a while and consider all that your Mom has done for you and for your family. And then pray and thank God for giving you your Mom, and ask him to help you show how much you appreciate her.

The Proverbs 31[10-31] Woman:

Verse 10 “Who can find a virtuous woman? For her price is far above rubies.” Who indeed? Not many. But my dad did. My Mom’s price is indeed far above rubies, for no amount of money could buy what she has done for our family.

Verse 13 “She seeketh wool and flax, and worketh willingly with her hands.” and 24 “She maketh fine linen and selleth it; and delivered girdles unto the merchants.” nobody asked my Mom to start a home business. Nobody asked her to make diaper bags to help raise money for the adoption. But she did anyway.

Verse 23 “Her husband is known in the gates, when he sittest among the elders of the land.” my dad couldn’t do the things he does without my mom to back him up.

Verse 26 “She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.” Verse 28-29 “Her Children rise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her. Many daughters have done virtuously, but thou excellest them all.” Verse 31 “Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates.”

God bless our mom, and all the other proverbs 31 women, this Mother’s day.

towering gold[en]: I got the Exo-Force golden tower. Well, sort of. I saw the set Fight For the Golden on sale, so I agreed with trey to put half the money down, and keep the tower; and he was to put down the other half, and keep the Sonic Raven (which comes with the tower). It’s actually a cool model. I don’t really like the Hitomi minifigure, but now that I have her, Ben and I are just need Sensei Kieken and we’ll have the entire Exo- Force collection made. And also, I can use Hitomi to pilot the Blazing Falcon, since it was her and not Ryo who flew it in the comics

Rutherford says: Wants are my best riches, for I have these supplied by Christ.

 

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

