another update, if you don’t mind

hi: sorry I haven’t posted much this week. We’ve been having some computer problems. But, now that I’m here, I guess I might as well fill you in on what’s been up this past week, right?
[last] friday: did schoolwork. Wrote a little. Cleaned up around the house. Went to see Prince Caspian that night.
saturday: woke up way late. Listen to Odyssey. Went to my cousins’ birthday party. Had lots of food. That night, I got ready for Church the next day.
sunday: went to Church. Awesome sermon on the fourth commandment. It’s amazing how little we think about this particular command. Talked to a lot of folks afterward. Had book that night. Afterwards we tossed the Frisbee round a little, and had some tea (which, of course we have every day).
monday: worked in the yard that morning. Later, at about noon, some friends came and picked us up to go to Ballard park in Tupelo. There were about Sixteen other kids from our church there. We had all got together to play Ultimate Frisbee. We played for about four hours, with several breaks between games. Afterwards, we went to a friends house for supper. We talked, played word games, ate a delicious meal, and had two extremely competitive games of Mafia afterward.
tuesday: trying to get back going after an eventful weekend. Nothing too exciting. Got up, had devotions, did a moderate amount of schoolwork. Day as usual.
Wednesday: went to a friends house that evening. Ate some hamburgers, had a vicious game of guerrilla warfare with the younger guys afterward.
thursday: Mom and dad went to Memphis that night to meet Josiah’s Cradle Care mom. (refer to my mom’s blog.) We stayed home and watched National Treasure: Book of Secrets.
rutherford’s weekly quote: When I look over beyond the line and beyond death, to the laughing side of the world, I triumph, and ride upon the high places of Jacob: howbeit, otherways I am a faint, death hearted, cowardly man, oft borne down and hungry in waiting for the marriage supper of the Lamb. Nevertheless, I think it the Lord’s wise love that feeds us with hunger, and makes us fat with wants and desertion.

today’s thought: In sickness, death, and despair, Look to Christ; in emotional and spiritual pain, when you see your sin, when you are persecuted, look to Christ;
In prosperity, health, times of spiritual comfort, times of happiness, look to Christ.
O, Jesus, show me mercy. Give me comfort in times of pain, and by your mercy give me pain in times of comfort. O help my wretched soul, for it’s sake, and for the sake of Thy name. Amen

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

