homecoming king

I’m a Father!!!: I mean my DAD’s a father! I’m a brother!!! I have a baby brother!!! (see Peanuts, Charlie Brown, when Sally was born). Well, that’s how most of us felt when we brought Josiah home Tuesday night.

When all this adoption stuff began, I was resolved to not worry or be nervous. I thought, “If we do get a baby, that will be awesome. If we don’t, it will be good for our sanctification.” sounds kinda harsh, I know, but there it is. But on Tuesday night, as we approached Memphis, the nervousness descended. I mean, it was hiving a long lost sibling that you loved because you knew he was your brother, but you were going to meet him in person for the first time.

Josiah and Momma

I guess a lot of the nervousness was lost on me because I had as it were gotten used to the idea of having a little brother in the house. I mean, we had prepared for him, talked about and to him, seen pictures of him, so actually knowing that we were going to have him didn’t seem that difficult to believe. But actually meeting him in person, now that was surreal. I mean, it’s like we had an invisible baby that we knew and loved, and then suddenly appeared. And, by the way, he is cuuute!!
My prayer for Josiah is that through our family, that God has seen fit to place him in, he would come to know his blessed Saviour, who has a plan for his life.

“For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.” Romans 8:15

“Having predestinated us unto the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will.” Ephesians 1:5

“He that spared not his own son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?”

These three request I make: that you Pray for Josiah, that in God’s good time, he would come to meet Christ; that you would praise God for his infinite mercy in bringing Josiah to us; and that, though we love our precious Josiah, that we would keep our eyes focused on Christ, and honour him with all that we do.

 

 

 

  1. #1 by maidenoftheroses on June 11, 2008 - 5:27 pm

    Great post! I’m praying and rejoicing for y’all. 😀 Romans 8:32 is a very comforting verse, and it’s been really helpful to me over the past year.

  2. #2 by ellie16 on June 12, 2008 - 12:00 pm

    yeah we can tell you’re excited ’cause yo wrote it was Tuesday when we picked him up and it was really Monday…
    ~ellie

  3. #3 by Hannah on June 13, 2008 - 8:52 am

    ellie
    yeah, i saw where he posted yall got him on tues….when i read that i paused then said i thought they got him on monday.

    jake
    congrats on getting a new brother!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

