another late birthday

late, as usual: well, this is Hannah’s birthday post. I meant to put it up yesterday, but I didn’t get around to it. And then I meant to put it up earlier this afternoon, but after WALL-E and staying and town for eight hours straight, there were, you know, complications.

happy birthday, Hannah!: yesterday, June the 26th, was the thirteenth birthday of my dear sister Hannah. Think: the pleasure of being my sister for a full thirteen years! Wow. It’s mind boggling.

But seriously, Hannah has been a genuine blessing to our family throughout her life; I cannot imagine a greater. We have had our share of quarrels over the years. There have been hard moments alongside the most blissful, and disquiet in the greatest tranquillity. But I believe that it was completely out of mercy that Hannah was brought into our family.

My dear Hannah, it has been a joy to watch you mature and grow over the past thirteen years. You went from a loving and silly little girl to… a loving and silly teenager. Over the next months and years, I pray that God would bless with all manner of Spiritual blessings, and that in his own good time Christ would bring you to himself. I wish I could do more, but as so often happens, I am typing this rather late and my mental faculties are out of joint.

a song: I came across this in our dear little hymnal [DLH]. I thought I would take one of the verses to grace my sidebar with, but I just decided to go ahead and post the whole thing. 94:

My God, I thank Thee, who hast made,

The earth so bright,

So full of splendour and of joy,

Beauty and light;

So many glorious things are here,

Noble and right.

I thank Thee, too, that Thou hast made,

Joy to abound,

So many gentle thoughts and deeds

Circle us round,

That in the darkest spot of earth,

Some love is found.

I thank Thee more that all our joy

Is touched with pain,

That shadows fall on brightest hours,

That thorns remain;

So that earth’s bliss may be our guide,

And not our chain.

For Thou, who knowest, Lord how soon,

Our weak heart clings,

Hast given us joy, tender and true,

Yet all with wings,

So that we see, gleaming on high,

Diviner things.

I thank Thee, Lord, that Thou hast kept

The best in store:

We have enough, but not to much

To long for more-

A yearning for a deeper peace

Not known before.

I thank Thee, Lord, that here our souls,

Though amply blest,

Can never find, although they seek,

A perfect rest,

Nor ever shall, until they lean

On Jesus’ breast.

by Adelaide Ann Procter.

they’ve done it again!!: if you read my blog, you probably know that Pixar is by far my favourite animation company. Expect to see me raving about their latest film, WALL-E, very soon. “Best Pixar since The Incredibles.” (The JF Film Edge).

 

  1. #1 by amongchosenones on June 28, 2008 - 6:00 am

    Jaaaaayycob.. I’m shocked !! :-0

    You used that T word!

    You know your little sister is a YOUNG LADY now.
    Watch your grammar there, you’re a Riley! 🙂

    Seriously, she is a real blessing & I’ve never had one ounce of trouble out of her, just polite & obedient ‘yes, Ma’mams & no Ma’mams.’
    A true Young Lady, such is quite uncommon these days in the general populace.

    We have enough, but not to much
    To long for more-
    A yearning for a deeper peace
    Not known before.
    I thank Thee, Lord, that here our souls,
    Though amply blest,
    Can never find, although they seek,
    A perfect rest,
    Nor ever shall, until they lean
    On Jesus’ breast.

  2. #2 by amongchosenones on June 28, 2008 - 6:00 am

    Love that part of the post, I forgot to mention
    Heather

  3. #3 by Hannah on June 28, 2008 - 7:24 am

    Happy Birthday Hannah!!!!!!!!!
    I have love being around you and i’m sooooo glad i’ve met you!!
    And i would have to agree with Mrs. Heather in the 2nd paragraph!!

    I Love You Hannah Riley!!!!!

    Hannah Baggett

  4. #4 by ruth brandon on June 28, 2008 - 10:11 am

    How sweat
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY

  5. #5 by flinding on June 29, 2008 - 4:52 pm

    ACO: I apologize.
    Hannah: Thanks for dropping by.
    Ruth: I think you mean sweet. No sweat.
    Flinding

  6. #6 by Hannah on June 29, 2008 - 10:59 pm

    PS. Jake on the 2nd paragraph you wrote appy birthday, instead of happy birthday

  7. #7 by flinding on June 30, 2008 - 3:01 pm

    Hannah,
    Trippin’. I guess I forgot to copy that H off of Word document. I’ll fix it.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

