on WALL-E

presto: the most hilarious Pixar short I have ever seen.

WARNING: The following post has the possibilty of some mild plot spoilers in it.

pixar’s latest and [2nd] greatest: lets face it: most romances (especially animated ones) involving humans are goofy. The characters look at each say a few nice things maybe, accidentally bump into each other a couple times and, poof! They’re in love. In WALL-E, the main character falls in love with the heroine, EVE (Eevaa in WALL-E language), because of a look, but since they’re robots, their relationship is based on service to one another rather than just physical interaction. As always, I will try and write a review that tells my opinion of the movie, without telling the movie. I will try to leave you guessing on as many points as possible.

After you’ve seen enough Pixar movies, like Toy Story, The Incredibles, Cars, you begin to expect a certain quality of story, as well as breathtaking animation, altogether foreign to other animated films. Brad Bird’s Ratatouille (2007) didn’t match up. Sure it had a good story: it would have been a great movie had any other company done it. But as a Pixar movie, it was fun but, well boring. When I saw the teaser for WALL-E I thought, “Man, they’re scraping the bottom of the barrel for stories.” how were they going to get something good out of that? When I saw the full trailer, I thought, “It looks good, but the main characters don’t even talk.”

Well, on Friday, June 27th, I was proved wrong. I was absolutely amazed at how they were able to create endearing characters out of robots. They were able to create WALL-E’s entire personality visually. His emotions, all his fun little oddities, were presented in a way that even a young kid would understand, and was enhanced on the older. I would definitely say that this is the best stuff Pixar has presented ever, other than, of course, The Incredibles.From a moral standpoint, this movie excelled. Not only did it only have one crude gag in it, but it was full of nice and subtle messages about looking out for one another, humanity, anti-big business, and pro-farming. Like I pointed out in the beginning, the love in this movie was based more on actions than on, well, romance. WALL-E and EVE are constantly rescuing each other. At a rather climactic moment, EVE is able to see just how much WALL-E cared for her. After she had shut down on earth, he took care of her, taking her along when he went to work, shielding her during the frequent sandstorms, and holding umbrellas over her when it rained. In turn, EVE reassembles WALL-E after he had allowed himself to be almost crushed in order to save the humans.

Beyond the personal, both WALL-E and EVE dedicate themselves to helping the humans back to earth, even though, well, the humans just don’t deserve it. They have grown incredibly obese after seven hundred years in space, to where all they do is constantly sit in recliners before TV\computer type devices, while their every need is supplied by robots. There only seem to be a few people who are willing to help: the Captain of the humans’ , who ever since EVE presented him with the plant, the key to returning to earth, has become obsessed with the idea of planting and farming; and two other unlikely humans. But, I can’t tell you about that.

And for those of you who are worried, the romantic subplot is humour driven, and only takes up about twenty-five percent of the film. Yes, there is fun. I would say that WALL-E is at least as funny as Cars. humour resounds throughout. And yes, it has a lot of comic action. Laser bolts fly, explosions galore; and yes, though some of you may not believe me, the storyline is incredibly engaging. All things considered, WALL-E is a awesomely fun movie, with something to offer for everyone. But more than that, it is a good movie, from all standpoints, and is perfect for viewing as a family or as an individual.

rutherford quote: It is not a smooth and easy way, neither will your weather be fair and pleasant; but whosoever saw the invisible God and the fair city, makes no reckoning of losses or crosses. In ye must be, cost you what it will; stand not for a price, and for all that ye have, to win the castle; the rights of it are won to you, and it is disponed to you, in your Lord Jesus’ Testament; and see what a fair legacy your dying friend, Christ hath left you: and there wanteth nothing but possession.

By the way, in case you were wondering, yes, my blog will go back to normal soon.

 

  1. #1 by ellie16 on June 30, 2008 - 7:46 pm

    presto: the most hilarious Pixar short I have ever seen.
    YEAH, PRESTO WAS HILARIOUS!!! *STILL LAUGHING*
    ~ellie

  2. #2 by Hannah on June 30, 2008 - 8:52 pm

    Happy Birthday Jake!!!

  3. #3 by brandon on June 30, 2008 - 9:05 pm

    Happy birthday Jacob !!!!
    I am glad to have known you 4 years

  4. #4 by emmawoodhouse on June 30, 2008 - 9:33 pm

    NIce. As the eldest Riley child, I hereby forbid you from talking any more about this movie until I see it.
    ~Emma

  5. #5 by ellie16 on June 30, 2008 - 9:39 pm

    Brandon: I know! Sometimes it feels shorter, sometimes I can’t believe it hasn’t been longer. SO GLAD WE MET Y’ALL (and mr. Ron wasn’t too irritated about dad calling about the billboard “another one wanting to get in on the business” 🙂 ) .
    Anyway, that’s beside the point.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAKE
    ~ellie

  6. #6 by emmawoodhouse on June 30, 2008 - 11:21 pm

    Brandon: What’s your first name, or is that a secret?
    ~Emma

  7. #7 by amongchosenones on July 1, 2008 - 5:49 am

    All Brandons feel the same in this household about the Riley family.

  8. #8 by Katie on July 1, 2008 - 7:28 am

    I’m really glad to hear this review, because after watching the previews in the theatre, I certainly was not inspired to watch it. But you Rileys have some pretty good movie picks, so I’ll definitely watch it now! 🙂 Thanks for the review!

  9. #9 by Hannah on July 1, 2008 - 10:34 am

    Wall-e sounds funny!!!!!

  10. #10 by ruth brandon on July 3, 2008 - 8:30 am

    WELL-E is great!!!!!!!!!!

  11. #11 by ruth brandon on July 3, 2008 - 8:43 am

    Hannah spelled WALL-E wrong accidentally.

  12. #12 by Hannah on July 3, 2008 - 10:23 am

    Hannah who?

  13. #13 by flinding on July 3, 2008 - 3:59 pm

    Thanks for y’all’s responses.
    Ellie: heh heh
    Emma: WALL-E, WALL-E, WALL-E, WALL-E……
    Katie: I noticed after I wrote this that I left a whole lot of great points unattended.:-( I guess you’ll just have to be surpised. You spelled ‘theatre’ the right way. Awsome!:-)
    Ruth: you are so right. She did spell it the wrong way. (by the way, its WALL-E, not WELL-E) :-d
    Flinding

  14. #14 by ellie on July 3, 2008 - 7:49 pm

    GOOD NIGHT! This post generated alot of responses!
    ~ellie

  15. #15 by Finduilas Faelivrin on July 4, 2008 - 11:56 am

    This is ridiculous. None of your more serious posts get this many comments. And here I am adding to the number.
    Ok, WALL-E is now my second favourite Pixar (which means my second favourite cartoon), after The Incredibles
    ~Finduilas (Emma

  16. #16 by JennyLF on July 7, 2008 - 2:57 pm

    Great post! I purposed not to read it (or any other reviews) until after I’d seen the movie, though. But I agree, this is one of Pixar’s very best. As a matter of fact, it is now one of my top ten favorites of all movie-types. 🙂

    Maybe a kindergartener wouldn’t cry, but I did. I cried when…oh I don’t want to spoil it for others…but it was a beautiful moment, and that’s why I cried. 🙂

  17. #17 by virgie-cake on August 9, 2008 - 12:06 pm

    ok dude, ratatouille is one of the best animated movies i’ve seen in a long time, though i must say that wall-e is better.

  18. #18 by Hannah on August 10, 2008 - 7:52 pm

    Dude??????

  19. #19 by Brandon on August 12, 2008 - 7:52 am

    I was with my cousin when she posted
    that comment, and I was laughing when I saw dude!!

  20. #20 by Hannah Baggett on August 12, 2008 - 12:27 pm

    Which cousin was it?

  21. #21 by virgie-cake on August 21, 2008 - 1:55 pm

    it was me, duh….just kidding. it was ginny.

  22. #22 by Hannah Baggett on August 22, 2008 - 2:38 pm

    oh ok

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

