of a study (and other random bablings)

monday night: we’ve begun a Monday night study at Church for the converted young men. We commenced this week. I must say, I was rather disappointed with the size of the group, consisting of only seven young men and three adults; but the size, I believe, was just what it should have been. The small size was rather in relation to the studies topic: evangelism. Our Church has probably an even number of converted to non-converted young men. We should strive to be an example to those around us; after all, with Christ on our side, we way outnumber them.

God has shown incredible mercy to our Church. Several of the young men there, my self included, wouldn’t have been in such a group at this time last year. Probably half of the men there wouldn’t two to three years ago. We have been shown Mercy, beyond what we deserve.

The group has three main purposes: Christians helping each other; verse memorization; and prayer. To be honest, a friend and I had already been toying with the idea of having a young men’s payer meeting, in response to Mr. Roberts’ sermons, when the group was announced. I believe the latter is the more preferable.

I not allowed to go into to much detail on the group, only to say that it was a rare blessing. I thought, since it was my Birthday, I would stay up late that night considering those things which had been spoken on. But alas! My folly. Though I did have some sweet, albeit short, pray times, the greater part of the night was spent in frivolity and merry-making (drinking Mountain Dews and Starbucks and fighting virtual Exo-Force robots). But my quiet time the next morning, (by God’s grace the things from the study were fresh in my mind), was the sweetest I remember in a long time. I can already see God’s working in this study: I pray he will work all the more.

somewhere to lean: we are in a pit. The economy is terrible. High cost of fuel and food have triggered a chain reaction that makes almost everything unaffordable. I won’t tell you my theories about oil lords and the government and all that; it would only spark unnecessary controversy. To tell you the truth, I think I am turning into a Royalist. Well, I don’t know. But of course there has been no perfect governments since Adam’s time. Nor will there be, till we can accept that the constitution of the whole earth is: “The earth is the Lord’s; and the fullness therein….”

But that’s beside the point. But as I was saying about the economy, I believe that before most who are reading this have died, we will be in an irreparable mess. I am listening to ‘My Deliverer’ (written by Rich Mullins, performed by Rick Elias) while I am writing this, and I just want to ask: when and if there is a crash, will you have a place to turn? When\if the comforts that you are so used to are yanked away, will you have someone to look to? For the Christian there can be but one answer: Christ. He will supply all that we need and more. Non-Christian, you may not have had your comforts taken, but have you rest? Look to Christ. Whether rich or poor, blessed or cursed, comfortable or deprived, he can and will supply our every need.

 

  1. #1 by ellie on July 3, 2008 - 8:12 pm

    Thanks Jake! I will be praying for your group. Please don’t forget to pray for ours, and espiecially Mrs. Misty and Mr. Anthony’s groups- that the Lord will work mightily in the hearts of our “younger young people”.
    ~elllie

  2. #2 by Hannah on July 4, 2008 - 7:12 am

    Haha, I like that, younger young people 😀 !!!

  3. #3 by Finduilas Faelivrin on July 4, 2008 - 11:59 am

    The problem with commenting on these types of posts is that you tend to say it all. Not that that’s a bad thing; keep it up.
    Great perspective on ‘The Coming Crash’.
    ~Finduilas (you-know-who)

  4. #4 by Finduilas Faelivrin on July 4, 2008 - 12:00 pm

    Maybe ‘Nienor’ or ‘Niniel’ would be better. Whaddya think?
    ~Finduilas

  5. #5 by flinding on July 6, 2008 - 6:16 pm

    Finduilas,
    It wouldn’t. I forbid it. I don’t liek the implications.
    Flinding

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

