all to Thee

Why is it Lord, so hard to live,
Just one day, one hour, all to Thee?

When throughout Thy holy life, Thy work,

Was all to saving worms like me?

 

Why is it Lord, when on my knees,

So hard to lift my voice to Thee?

When my Lord, in Gethsemane,

Bore the world for rogues like me?

 

Why is it Lord, my tongue is still,

When e’er I want to spread Thy fame?

When from the days when he was young,

Christ was resolved to speak Thy name?

 

Yet Christ lived not for his own sake,

Nor always pray for his own soul,

No, grace he gave, through his life,

That our life to Thee may then be whole.

 

How is it Lord, (oh mercy vast),

That you should grant such grace to me?

That all I say or do in life,

Might bring great glory, all to Thee!

and: For my next blog project I will probably an update of my ancient about page.

 

  1. #1 by Katie on July 7, 2008 - 7:31 pm

    Thanks for being willing to share some of your thoughts and writings about these Christian struggles with us. I do so understand what you mean when you say, why is it so hard to live for You when You have given us so much grace and mercy? It is such a never-ending struggle… and such a never-ending subject of gratefullness to our Father, that He doesn’t despise us for our short-comings. Thanks again for the poem.

  2. #2 by flinding on July 11, 2008 - 4:25 pm

    Katie,
    Thanks for the response. I suppose that on the inside, we are none of us that different.
    To tell you the truth, when I typed this post, I thought, “maybe I shoudl tell them what I mean by this or that or so and so.” But in the end, I decided to let the poem speak for itself.
    Flinding

  1. All to Thee - by Jacob Riley « Riley Dad’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

