anything but boring

h-i: how is the world out there? I am so bored. Board. Bored. I’m so bored. I am super low on inspiration. I know what to write, I just don’t know how to write it. I’m boar-ed.

I guess my boredom is my fault. I could find something exciting to do. Oh well. It is a comfort to know that even though I feel down personally, Christ is there.

I’ve really been learning a lot in the young peoples study of late. In that, and in all the books and scriptures I’m reading, the Lord seems to be continually leading to one central theme: Grace. Grace. Just think about the word. What would Christianity be without grace? Grace, which is greater even than mercy; indeed, the latter is an offspring of the former.

Without grace, our lives would not change. We could-we ought- have changed lives as a response to mercy. But we are humans; without grace, we would still be living in sin. You’re probably familiar with the misused cliché: grace: God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense. Cliché or not, this is true. Consider how big God is. Then think: God’s riches, poured out on us, poor, wretched sinners, at the expense of Christ. Grace. Nothing else but the blood of Christ could have purchased these riches for us. By definition, grace is God granting something to us that we do not deserve.

It is by grace that God gives us Mercy. Mercy is God not giving us what we deserve. And what is it we deserve? Death, the wages of sin. Because of our sin nature, we were condemned from the day we were born. To pay our wages, Christ had to die on the cross. The price for our sins has been paid; all the riches, or fullness, of God is available. We need no money; Christ has paid all.

God has given us grace to draw near to Him. That God would redeem us is a theme that would last for eternity; that he would take us into his service would be a song that would not end. But that he would actually adopt us, so that we can draw near to Him as a child draws near to a father, is a thing that shocks men and angels more than the other two. That we should be able to draw near to God, in pray, in love, in all forms of communion, is “more wonders than are in the whole of heaven.”(as C.S. Lewis put it). We cannot even grab hold of this, except by faith. The way that these riches were purchased for us, is more brilliant in conception, more beautiful in design, than the universe and all therein.

Everything that has been going on around me has been pointing to grace. Looking at the bigness of God, and His law; looking at the gospel, and reading about the life of Jesus; amidst all the whirling confusion around me, it’s peace to know that God is there. That I can always come to Him, before the throne of grace, and just let His grace grab hold of me. All these things I am learning about, they all seem so unrelated. But somehow, they all end up pointing towards the vast and marvellous grace of our Father in Heaven.

I said at the beginning that I was bored and without inspiration. That has changed. The subject of grace is one that is inspiring in and of itself. Let us praise our Father, for the work of grace that he has done, and is doing, in our lives.

Rutherford today: I know, we may say, that Christ is kindest in his love when we are weakest; and that if Christ had not been to the fore, in our sad days, the waters had gone over our soul.

Now, I know you are wishing I would put some other sort of post up. Relax. My next post will be an update on what’s been going on, I’ll talk some about Josiah, try to put up some pics., that sort of stuff.

 

  1. #1 by brandon on July 18, 2008 - 8:33 pm

    YESS ! ! ! I can’t wait to see the pic!

  2. #2 by Hannah on July 19, 2008 - 6:05 pm

    What pic are you excited to see?

    ~Hannah~

  3. #3 by brandon on July 20, 2008 - 7:18 am

    sorry

  4. #4 by Hannah on July 21, 2008 - 8:22 am

    😉

  5. #5 by Katie on July 21, 2008 - 12:50 pm

    Such a never-ceasing fountain of joy for the believer… the topic of grace. Thanks for writing about it.

  6. #6 by flinding on July 26, 2008 - 6:02 pm

    Katie,
    I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that you have the same sort of feeling of feelings about it as I do. I think every believer should spend time meditating more on this vast subject. I know I don’t.
    Flinding

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

