thanks, Rutherford, for being serious

how’s the sicky?: we’ve had a good bit of sickness going around lately. From what I gather, the prominent feature is fever, with optional side dishes of sore throat, upset stomach, intense headaches, and the like. I have weathered it thus far, which is surprising, seeing as I am usually quite susceptible to those sorts of ailments. The worst cases have been amongst the younger girls like Sarah, Annie, and Hannah. So, with those three sick, there have been a lot of chick-flicks playing around here. Let me give you a quick overview of them.

The Adventures of Ociee Nash: we had actually rented this several times before. It’s the story of a young Mississippi tom girl who was raised on a farm with her two brothers and her dad (her mom had died), and is shipped to the home of her aunt to learn how to be ‘a lady’. It’s a very family friendly film, and is okay to watch…..once. The first thirty minutes are kinda funny, if not a little on the goofy side. It goes down hill from there. The last fifteen minutes hurt the most (I actually only watched a few minutes this time round). But for a movie with “heart-warming” stapled on it, Ociee Nash was a winner.

Charlotte’s Web: now that’s arguably not a chick flick; but it was less than perfect. I will say, to the horror of many, that it was better than the old animated one; and, to the horror of several more, it was as good as the E.B. White classic it was based on. But it could have been better. To tell you the truth, it’s a miracle it made the G rating. It was horridly crude in several scenes. But hey, you cannot always find barnyard paradise. It was interesting, and I am quite eager to never watch it again.

Cinderella III: this is where my dignity draws the line. I didn’t watch it. But I did read the back of the box. I seriously think they’re over-complicating something so nice and innocent as the story of Cinderella. I am guessing their goal was to make a Cinderella that would be engaging for the same girls who would’ve watched the other one when they were a good deal younger. They probably achieved that, as well as scaring the more recent three to four year old fans. But again, if your looking for paradise, don’t look for it in Cinderella.

Nim’s Island: well…..it too, was entertaining only once. This movie was moderately funny, and well engineered for a young audience. Unfortunately, it wasn’t as innocent as it could have been, mostly for reasons I won’t personally want to state (except that there were some brief crudities and language). But, it kept a more or less good grip on the audience until the last twenty minutes, which were as predictable as they come. It would have made a great comic-action flick, but it had to much emotion for that. All-in-all, it was an o.k. movie……for girls.

Well, amidst all this, on Friday night we watched The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (extended edition). It reminded us that there is no substitute for good film, engaging action, and real, high quality story.

another Rutherford quote: God hath made many fair flowers, but the fairest of them all is heaven, and the flower of all flowers is Christ.

 

  1. #1 by Katie on August 11, 2008 - 4:28 pm

    Sorry, Jacob, but Charlotte’s Web is NOT a chick flick. And my dignity drew the line with Cinderella II…. I mean, they’re messing with my fairy tales here, and I do not approve. Too bad “they” didn’t ask me for my opinion. 🙂

  2. #2 by Malachi on August 15, 2008 - 2:05 pm

    I didn’t even like the first Cinderella, but as long as people buy ’em they’ll make ’em.

  3. #3 by Brandon on August 15, 2008 - 10:54 pm

    I didn’t like the first Charlotte’s Web,
    but I haven’t seen the second.

  4. #4 by amongchosenones on August 16, 2008 - 9:22 am

    CW, old & classic. Great!

  5. #5 by Malachi on August 16, 2008 - 9:44 am

    I didn’t like Cinderella at all!!!! I’ve never seen Charlotte’s web, I’m not sure I want to.

    HEB.

  6. #6 by amongchosenones on August 16, 2008 - 1:43 pm

    what’s up? call me, christy?

  7. #7 by flinding on August 16, 2008 - 7:54 pm

    Malachi,
    Oh yeah. Great Movie…………for girls.
    Jake

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

