summer ends (sort’a kind’a)

what’s the scene: at the Riley house these days? Lots. Nothing at all. Fun. Boring. It seems that just as everyone else’s summer winds down, mine is just beginning to accelerate. See, up till now, I haven’t been doing much. I’ve got a lot of reading done, writing, I’ve killed chickens occasionally, we’ve been doing a study at our Church for the Christian young people, etc. Really, it’s been a more or less quiet summer, while being eventful enough to prevent it’s being boring. I rather like it that.
Things have changed.
I’ve been working on and off for a friend of ours from Church. I’ve helped him with yard work, mostly weed eating, and a few other things. It has been a blessing thus far, and I was grateful for the opportunity to do some work.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll be going and staying with my Pawpaw for about a week to help him out on his place. I haven’t done that for a while, not since I was eleven I believe. That will be interesting.

And, even though school time is approaching, it looks like my book stack just keeps getting higher. I’m still reading The Pickwick Papers, and The Book of Lost Tales. I’ve finished How to Pray, by R. A. Torrey. I’ll tell you about in my next post probably. But I’ve picked up The Autobiography of George Muller, and I going to start on Thomas Charles’ Spiritual Essays. also, something the other day reminded me that I still have to read Wives and Daughters. Man, all this hurts my head.

I’ve been doing my best to follow what’s happening with our brave men overseas. Yes, our brave boys in the tight colourful outfits, fighting for their country’s honour in Beijing. And winning. I’ve especially enjoyed what I’ve been hearing about the real life Aqua-man, Michael Phelps. (I won’t tell you what I think of our slightly less prestigious females). Man, this is frivolous.

a good quote: Put Christ’s love on trial and put upon it burdens, and then it will appear love indeed.

 Samuel Rutherford

 

  1. #1 by Hannah Baggett on August 20, 2008 - 2:13 pm

    We’ve been watching the Olympics, Michael Phelps won 8 Gold metals in Men’s swimming he broke the record. And Natalie Coughlin won 6 metals for the women’s swimming and broke the record for the most women to win 6 metals. My top favorite events in the Olympics is Men and Women’s swimming and women’s Gymnastics.

  2. #2 by katie on August 21, 2008 - 7:24 am

    The Pickwick Papers is the most hilarious book I have read in a long time; I’m suprised they haven’t taken me to the hospital for a split side or exploded lung. It drags a little a one point, but picks up quite nicely after that. I really like it. And I heartily recommend George Muller’s bio. If you want to get your faith examined under a microscope, and your trust in God dissected, it’s the book to read. It’s really a very encouraging book, and it blessed me, but one does feel like that a little bit during parts of it.
    Happy reading!

  3. #3 by Flinding on August 21, 2008 - 8:08 pm

    Katie,
    Pickwick Papers: hilarious book that–very–drags in several places– very funny still–I really like that one part–military review–hilarious descriptions–quite–hilarious–story good–on the rare occasions when it is being developed.–good book-very.
    George Muller: I know it well. That’s the sort of thing I’m no good at expounding on in comments.
    Jake

  4. #4 by katie on August 23, 2008 - 7:33 pm

    Thank you, Mr. Jingle.

  5. #5 by ellie16 on August 23, 2008 - 8:25 pm

    good one, japen. yeah after the first time i read pickwick i sort of learned which parts to skip. i knew you were a ‘kindred spirit’ katie. sorry josiah is sleeping on my lap i know how annoying these bad grammer typings are.
    ellie

  6. #6 by rileydad on August 27, 2008 - 5:18 am

    The Pickwick Papers is the most hilarious book I have read in a long time; I’m suprised they haven’t taken me to the hospital for a split side or exploded lung. It drags a little a one point, but picks up quite nicely after that. I really like it. And I heartily recommend George Muller’s bio. If you want to get your faith examined under a microscope, and your trust in God dissected, it’s the book to read. It’s really a very encouraging book, and it blessed me, but one does feel like that a little bit during parts of it.
    Happy reading!

    Thanks for the substanative comments, Katie.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

