interview with mr ideal

Mr. Ideal?: He’s how I see myself at forty. (now remember, this is just for fantasy purposes)

Interviewer: So, Mr. Ideal, how many books have you written across your forty-year life?

MD: Thirty-five

Inter.: you have a vast library. How many books do you own?

MD: Fifty thousand.

Inter: How many of those have you read?

MD: Gosh, I don’t know; not all of them.

Inter.: Which books do you value the most?

MD: My Ultra thin KJV Bible I got when I was thirteen; my complete J.C. Ryle collection; my Tozer, my Lewis, my Owen, my Edwards, my Rutherford, Vincent, Torrey, Bunyan, Packer, etc., and my Complete J.R.R. Tolkien collection.

Inter.: What is your favorite book of the Bible?

MD: Romans.

Inter.: You have some strong political opinions I understand. What do you think of our current President?

MD: Oh, my Dad is really great.

Inter.: do you aspire to someday holding political office?

MD: When I get to old to do anything else. If you believe that, I have a bridge to sell you.

Inter.: Do you hold any sort of government position at the current time?

MD: Secret Agent. But you didn’t hear that.

Inter.: okay. And what’s your codename?

MD: the Human Torch. But you didn’t hear that either.

Inter.: What is your favorite dish?

MD: well, that’s hard to say. You see, I have a set up where I eat a dish from a different country every day. But I think I still enjoy my mom’s Gumbo and some good Shrimp Scampi the most.

Inter.: do you collect anything besides books?

MD: I like to collect Medieval weapons, as well any kind of gun. And Legos; lots of Legos.

Inter.: Isn’t that a little immature?

MD: Lego are for all ages.

Inter.: Do you do anything for a career besides writing and being a secret agent?

MD: I wanted to be a Veterinarian when I was a kid; so I do a little bit of that on the side. And I really like to go on mission trips, mostly to the Middle East.

Inter.: what do you do to stay in shape?

MD: I do a little weightlifting; running, biking, hiking, swimming, playing games like ultimate Frisbee, Soccer, Football, Volleyball, and inside things like Ping-Pong; Water and Ice Skiing, Snowboarding, Skydiving, and Bungee Jumping.

Inter: What kind of Car do you drive?

MD: With the family, my Chevy 3500 Express. Without, either the Corvette SS or the pickup.

Inter.: Where is your favorite place to be?

MD: My country home in Mississippi.

Inter.: What do you do there?

MD: I do a little gardening, and I raise animals.

Inter.: What kind of animals?

MD: Pigs, Cows, LOTS of Horses, Buffalo, Zebras, Camels, Komodo Dragons, Crocodilians, lots and LOTS of Dogs, fish, Martians; and a Tuatara, but you didn’t hear that.

today’s quote: “Christ hath come, and run away to heaven with my heart and my love, so that neither heart nor love is mine.” Samuel Rutherford.

 

  1. #1 by Finduilas Faelivrin on September 15, 2008 - 6:55 pm

    Mr Ideal, huh? When I’m forty I want my name to be Mrs Lee, Mrs Jackson, Mrs Alfred the Great . . . something along those lines.

    ‘Interviewer: So, Mr. Ideal, how many books have you written across your forty-year life?
    MD: Thirty-five’

    So get hoppin’! Hey, have I told you that criticism is important?

    ~Finduilas Faelivrin (as in, ‘OHHH, Turin!’)

  2. #2 by Morgan on September 15, 2008 - 8:39 pm

    Have you considered putting secret agent codes in the legos?

    I think you should have a few more books. : )

  3. #3 by Brandon on September 16, 2008 - 11:29 am

    Japen, how many children do you have?

    A hilarious post, I loved it ! ! !

  4. #4 by ellie16 on September 16, 2008 - 1:43 pm

    thats exactly what I was going to ask you, Mr. Ideal. How many?
    So what are the 35 books about? What’s the name of the first one you wrote? What’s it about?Come, do tell us.
    Just kidding. I know how annoying that is…
    ~ellie

  5. #5 by Flinding on September 16, 2008 - 4:21 pm

    Emma: I’ll do my best.
    Mo’gan: There Already are! 🙂
    Brandon: between six and twenty nine.
    Ellie: The first To Make Deals With a Mocked Bird basically it’s about a guy who gets decapitated and has a birds head put on. Yeah, that is annoying.
    Jake

  6. #6 by Emily on June 22, 2010 - 11:16 am

    Wow, this sounds like . . . forever ago. Obviously pre-Ethiopia, as seen by favourite foods and this sentence: ‘And I really like to go on mission trips, mostly to the Middle East.’ Now you’d be like, What Middle East? What other six continents? Oh yeah, and the fact that you still had political opinions. And you still collected Legos and weapons, Mr Non-Violent. And you wanted a pickup?! Horses?!!

    I think I’ll start a petition to see a revised and updated Mr iDeal series. First question: Mr iDeal, do you think dreams can change as we mature?

    One more remark: My original comment was unbelievably goofy.

  7. #7 by Young Sailor on June 22, 2010 - 5:23 pm

    Emma: Problem one. I still thought I was Human Torch instead of a happier alternative.
    Problem two: Political opinions.
    Problem three: I have no higher writing aspiration than some good form of poetry.
    Problem four: as far as guns go, I’d prefer to live in a place where they’re illegal. That way I’m not torn between my dislike of them and my belief in their necessity.
    Disclaimer: I used to want Tyler’s pickup.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

