finally back (in more ways than one)

i did it!: a new blog record of procrastination! I think. But seriously, I am really sorry. But there is a reason for it, albeit a slight one. Our internet has been having problems, and the only computer available to get on the internet has been Anthony. No thanks. I’m typing this on the desktop, but I would rather do it on Hal. Oh well. Now, last time I talked about Christian Filmmaking. I don’t know if I want to return to that. I mean, I said all I wanted to on the subject, and I was just giving some examples. The second part was just going to be a couple others (namely Gods and Generals and The Second Chance). But I made my point, and it’s been a while, so maybe I’ll just move on.

the ten commandments and pride: I’ve been thinking lately, after the close of Pastor John’s series on the law, about all the practical ways we break the commandments by pride. These are all pretty obvious. I mean, we all know that pride is the root of all sin. But stick with me.

no other gods before Me: we have a hard time excepting that we are incomplete in ourselves. But on the flip side, we have a hard time admitting that God is enough. Out of pride we say, “God, look what we’ve brought. Haven’t we made a great choice? I know you are the great God, but really think that as long as I can‘t be a deity myself, I should have a right to choose who really is god.” has it ever struck that the more humbled we are, the bigger God looks? As long as we have this enormous view of ourselves, our sight of God is clouded. Only when He shows who we really are can we see Him for who He really is.

no graven image: well, obviously, I f you’ve listened to the sermons, as most of my readers have, you’ll already realize what I’m about to say. We cannot bear to think that God could really be totally separate an different from us. We like to place our trust in something that is as close to us as possible, if it can’t be us ourselves. So we picture (or sculpt) our own Christ. Whether it’s in our mind or on our living room wall or in our church building, we refuse to listen to God’s commandment. Even though Jesus became a man, and thousands of people saw Him, doesn’t mean that we should try and draw up some image ourselves, because it is so much our tendency to look to the image rather than to God. Rather than humble ourselves before Him, and do all we can to come before Him in worship, no matter what the pains that accompany it, we would prefer an image that is like us to create emotions, attempting to create feelings about God that only He has the right to give us.

I’ll admit it’s not much, but it’s all I could throw together on Sunday afternoon. But you will be glad to hear that I updated the gallery page!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

