i’m off

who am I: and what am I doing on this blog? Okay, I admit I’ve been a bit lazy of late with this blog. It’s one of the many things I would like to be doing but I don’t do near enough, like working out, reading good books, running, and working on my book. It’s just getting to that busy time of year again, I guess. Piles of schoolwork, piles of books…and, oh yeah, I am leaving the country to go to Ethiopia. Tomorrow. Yeah, me to. I probably won’t be blogging again for eight or nine days, so you may as well not check. I will tell you everything I can when I get back, and maybe then some. I hardly know what to think, all of this is kind of surreal to me. All I know is this: God would not send me, or any one who is going with me, to Ethiopia unless he had a purpose for it. And I am excited to learn what that is.

Leaving for Ethiopia reminds me of a great privilege that I have often overlooked as a Christian: being the hands and feet of Christ. We are the body, Christ is our head. Wow. But what does that mean to us? So often we attempt to replace the head with something else. But it is a great comfort to remember that though our we seem numb and motionless, and it seems as though the body of Christ were growing old and decaying rather than thriving, we have an all powerful Head, that will not allow any one of His member to be cut off. One that lives on from everlasting to everlasting, and is bringing His precious children to Him so that they may not spend a moment of eternity away from His presence.

If we are the body,

Why aren’t His arms reaching,

Why aren’t His hands healing,

Why aren’t His words teaching?

And if we are the body,

Why aren’t His feet going,

Why is His love not showing

Them there is a way?

Jesus is the way.

From If We are the Body, Mark Hall, Casting Crowns

“I beseech you in the Lord Jesus, make every day more and more of Christ, and try your growth in the grace of God, and what ground you win daily on corruption; for travellers are day by day, either advancing farther on, and nearer home, or else they go not right about to compass their journey.” Samuel Rutherford.Well, that tiny winy post was all I had time for. Pray for me, and I will see (or blog to) you when I get back!

 

  1. #1 by emmawoodhouse on October 14, 2008 - 4:04 pm

    ‘It’s one of the many things I would like to be doing but I don’t do near enough, like working out, reading good books, running, and working on my book. It’s just getting to that busy time of year again, I guess. Piles of schoolwork, piles of books’
    Funny, I had waaay more time on my hands when I was ‘doin’ school’ than I do now.
    ~Emma

  2. #2 by Katie on October 14, 2008 - 5:05 pm

    I hope you have a really meaningful, wonderful trip, and I am looking forward to hearing about it.

    – Katie

  3. #3 by ellie16 on October 14, 2008 - 6:28 pm

    We’ll miss you so much!
    ~Ellie

  4. #4 by Hannah Baggett on October 15, 2008 - 7:44 am

    I hope all of y’all (including Jake) have a great trip!! Y’all will be missed!!

    ~Hannah~

  5. #5 by ellie16 on October 16, 2008 - 6:05 pm

    {{{{{miss you}}}}}
    Email often! We didn’t get your complete email; it cut off in the middle (?).
    Hope you’re getting some rest.
    Ellie

  6. #6 by emmawoodhouse on October 16, 2008 - 8:25 pm

    Love you! Miss you! There’s a Jacob sized hole in our family but we’re so very thankful for this opportunity. Praying the Lord richly blesses your time there.

    Love you much!
    Mom

  7. #7 by mom on October 16, 2008 - 8:26 pm

    Love you! Miss you! There’s a Jacob sized hole in our family but we’re so very thankful for this opportunity. Praying the Lord richly blesses your time there.

    Love you much!
    Mom

  8. #8 by Hannah on October 17, 2008 - 6:48 pm

    Yes we miss you and Malachi and Daddy VERY MUCH!!!!!

    ~Hannah~

  9. #9 by flinding on October 19, 2008 - 1:03 am

    Ellie,
    Yes, both physically and spiritually. It’s a struggle, though, so continue praying for me. and it’s jacorfriley@gmail.com
    Hannah,
    We miss y’all and and the others at CCC. It’s Sunday here, so say hi to everyone.
    flinding

  10. #10 by ellie16 on October 19, 2008 - 6:39 am

    Glad to hear from you Jake. Please Email.
    And for those who are reading Jake had a type-o in his email address. If you want to email Jake, the correct address is jacobfriley@gmail.com.
    Ellie

  11. #11 by emmawoodhouse on October 19, 2008 - 8:21 am

    Are you having trouble with your email? Because we haven’t heard from you since yesterday noon!!! PLEASE figure out the problem and drop us a line!!

  12. #12 by Katie on October 20, 2008 - 11:25 am

    I’m thinking of you and praying for you every day… hope y’all are doing well.

    -Katie

  13. #13 by Rileymom on October 20, 2008 - 4:57 pm

    Jake says he’s planning on posting so check back. In the meantime I posted an excerpt from an email on my blog.

  14. #14 by rileymom on October 23, 2008 - 8:10 pm

    Jakes coming home!

  15. #15 by Brandon on October 24, 2008 - 7:55 am

  16. #16 by emmawoodhouse on October 24, 2008 - 8:15 am

    Whoa . . . so you’ve discovered two ways to get lots of comments: 1. Post a movie review 2. Leave town. Whatever works.
    ~Emma

  1. Pray For Jacob & Ethiopia « Riley Dad’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

