an almost late birthday post (and: it’s almost over!)

happy birthday Sarah!: today, November 4th, is my sister Sarah’s tenth birthday. I considered writing this tomorrow simply for the sake of doing a late birthday post. But, oh well, out the hole in the wall with that idea’r. Here it goes.
I am really at a loss for what to say: all the “birthday posts” I have done thus far have been extremely cheesy and cliché. I wonder what I could do to liven it up. I guess I could tell all sorts of embarrassing things about her. (for example: I remember the time when….) but I won’t. then what should I do? I mean, I can only go so far with the material I’ve got. But seriously, Sarah has her own personality, just like everyone else in this family, so she shouldn’t be that hard. Ya’ll all know her as the short, cute girl, dark brown hair, and very squeaky voice. I remember (vaguely) when she was just born (ironically, her voice was less squeaky). I wasn’t jealous: but I thought it would be interesting to be jealous, so I tried my best. In my brilliance, and as far as I remember, I would say angrily to myself, “I’m number seven!.” Uh, whatever difference that made. She was a cute baby: as far as I remember, she was the only one I took out of the cradle to hold without asking when she was just newborn (I only did that one once). Of course, I’m talking about myself, not Sarah. I guess that’s because I’m older: I’ve had more time to make mistakes (laughable and otherwise).
I guess the great privilege of being in older brother is this: we get to watch (and hopefully help) our younger siblings grow and mature. And Sarah is included in that as much as anyone. It been a joy to watch her grow to a little young woman in everything, from her mind and spirit to the consistency of her squeakiness. And my continuing and unending prayer is that she would mature in the grace of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. Happy birthday, Sarah, and God bless you.
it’s almost over!!!!!!!!!: might I repeat, it’s almost over!!!. Today, November 4th, 2008, could very well be America’s doomsday. But at least there will be no more election. Sort of. I kind of think that, no matter who wins, there will be a huge outrage. But soon it will be all said and done. People can go back to their normal lives, and the fighting on the internet, TV, radio, and the like will have more or less subsided. As far as the presidential election, we will have one person to direct our extreme dislike towards rather than two. To be pessimistic. Our state will eventually be free of political signs (for a little while at least!). And people will turn their attention from elections for a little while. It has been my thought, as many others have thought, that the best thing that could happen to this nation would be for Barack Obama[r] to win. That, if nothing else, will capture this Nation’s attention (particularly “conservatives”). that, if nothing else, will capture the Churches attention. I pray, that if nothing else, this election would be used for much more important reasons, to awaken the bride of Christ and turn the Church back to it’s Head. Something is coming. There is something behind that word “Change” that our dear Senator keeps using. God help us.

Might I repeat, It’s almost over!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

a fresh song: Do you remember, so long back, when I listed the things I would be posting soon, and amongst them was a review of Revelation when I got it? Well, it didn’t come out till August twenty-ninth. And unfortunately, I wasn’t able to snatch it up just then. But when I returned from Ethiopia, it was on my desk. (Thanks Trey). And I will not let it be said that I didn’t hold to what I said I would write on my blog. Oh, wait, I’m way to late for that one. But none the less, I will be posting that soon, accompanied by thoughts on Ben Stein’s Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, and Casting Crowns’ Peace on Earth. In the mean time, here’s one of my favourite songs from the project (Revelation I mean):

 

Today I found myself,

After searching all these years,

And the man that I saw, he wasn’t at all

Who I thought he’d be.

I was lost when you found me here,

And I was broken beyond repair,

Then you came along,

And you sang a song over me.

(chorus)

It feels like I’m born again,
It feels like I’m living,
For the very first,

For the very first time, in my life.

Make a promise to me now,

Reassure my heart somehow,

That the love that I feel, is so much more real

Than anything.

I’ve a feeling in my soul,

And I pray that I’m not wrong,

That the life I have now, it is only

The beginning.

It feels like I’m born again,
It feels like I’m living,
For the very first time,
It feels like I’m breathing,

It feels like I’m moving,

For the very first time,

For the very first time, in my life.

(bridge)

I wasn’t looking for, something that was more,

Than what I had yesterday,

Then you came to me, and you gave to me,

The life and the love, that I’ve never known,

That I’ve never felt before.

 

It feels like I’m born again…..

Born Again,

Mac Powell, Third Day

 

 

 

  1. #1 by katie on November 4, 2008 - 3:19 pm

    I am tremendously glad the election is almost over. I get sick that every time men, (women too, but especially men,) see each other the talk eventually turns in full force to politics. Yes, it’s important, but talking endlessly about it accomplishes nothing, as far as I’m concerned. There now, there’s my rant for the week. 🙂 Happy Birthday, Sarah!

    -Katie

  2. #2 by flinding on November 4, 2008 - 3:23 pm

    Katie,
    Thanks for not losing any time. I better start posting once a week.
    Eight hours and thirty-eight minutes to go!
    Jake

  3. #3 by Hannah Baggett on November 4, 2008 - 5:41 pm

    Happy Birthday Sarah!!!!!

    ~Hannah~

  4. #4 by Emily on November 4, 2008 - 6:34 pm

    I’m glad the election is almost over too, because I am waaayy too interested in politics for my own good.

  5. #5 by amongchosenones on November 7, 2008 - 1:31 am

    What a blessing baby Christians are!
    I LOVE THE LYRICS TO THAT SONG! I wonder if the tune is annoying? 😉
    Some of that Christian rock music reminds me of the verse,
    “The kingdom of heaven suffereth violence and violent men lay hold of it.” Confucius once said, “You can tell the health of a society by the beat of it’s music.”

    Oh, the honeymoon days of being a baby Christian….the feel of being fresh clay on the Potter’s wheel, with His hands molding & shaping you. These days are PRECIOUS Jacob, no other time in your life like being brand-new, just born, first seeing after a life of blindness…. Our Father is AWESOME, isn’t He !!

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

