all i really want…..

the reason for the season: when we say certain words, peoples minds go to certain things. If we say there are problems in this country, we think, “Democrats” (unless they are problems in the Republican Party, then we think, “Sarah Palin”); if someone says gas, we think it’s getting cheaper; if someone says “Wal-Mart,” well, we all have our favourites. What if someone said “December”? most people automatically think Christmas. But why? What significance does it have?
One thing that usually doesn’t come to mind is adoption. “Yeah, it’s nice to think of the two in a sappy way, but they don’t have anything in common.” wrong. Really, that’s one of the things that “Christmas” is all about. First, it has to do with Christ’s gift to us, by which we are adopted into the family of God. I could talk so long on the subject if I had to.

Second, if you’ll read the Christmas story, you’ll note that Jesus Himself was adopted into the line of David on His earthly father’s side. So really, it has everything to do with Christmas. Even in our day, what significance does an iPod have (no offence intended, I love iPods) when compared to the life of a child? I don’t know why I say all that, except to say this:

These are a couple of my favourite modern Christmas song. They both have to do with Horizontal adoption, and Christmas. The first was written by Steven Curtis Chapman, father of three adopted children and founder of the Shaohannah’s Hope adoption fund. And it goes like this:

Well I don’t know if you remember me or not,

I’m one of the kids they brought in from the home,

I was the red haired boy, in an old green flannel shirt,

You may not have seen me, I was standing off alone.

I didn’t come and talk to you, cause that’s never worked before,

And you’ll probably never see this letter, anyway

But just in case there’s something, you can do to

help me out,

I’ll ask you, one more time,

All I really want for Christmas, is someone to tuck me in
A shoulder to cry on if I lose, shoulders to ride on if I win,

There’s so much I could ask for, but there’s just one thing I need,

All I really want for Christmas,

Is a family

Well, I guess I should go ahead and tell you now,

If that’s really true about that list you have,

Somehow I always seem to end up in a fight

But I’m really trying hard not to be bad

Maybe if I had a brother, or a dad to wrestle with,

Maybe they could teach me, how to get along,

And from everything I’ve heard, it sounds like

the greatest gift on earth,

Would be a mom.

(chorus)
All I really want for Christmas, is someone who’ll be here,

To sing me happy birthday for the next 100 years,

And it’s okay if they’re not perfect or even if they’re

a little broken

That’s all right, for so am I.

Well I guess I should go, it’s almost item for bed,

Maybe next time I write, I’ll be at home.

‘Cause all I really want for Christmas, is someone to tuck me in,
Tell me I’ll never be alone, someone who’s love will never end

Of all that I could ask for well there’s just one thing I need,

All I really want for Christmas,

Is a family

The second one is closer to my heart, for two reasons: One, the story behind it reminds me of the story of one of my youngest and dearest friends; Two, it’s a true story. It was written by Third Day guitarist Brad Avery. He and his wife were adopting from China, and the thing they wanted most was to have her home by Christmas. But they were unable. So he wrote this song as a way of saying Merry Christmas to his “little China girl”. (oh, and three: It’s Third Day!):

There’s a little girl, trembling on a cold December morn,

Crying for Mama’s arms.

In an orphanage, just outside a little China town

Where the forgotten are.

But half a world away I hang the stockings by the fire

And dream about the day when I can finally call you mine

It’s Christmas time again, and you’re not home
Your family is here and yet your somewhere else alone
So tonight I pray that God will come, and hold you in His arms,

And tell you from my heart,

I wish you merry Christmas.

As I hang the tinsel on the tree, and watch the twinkling lights,

I’m warmed by the fire’s glow.

Outside the children tumble in a wonderland of white,

And make angels in the snow

But half a world away you try, your best to fight the tears,

And hope that heaven’s angels, will carry you here

(chorus)
(bridge)

Christmas is the time we celebrate the Holy Child,

And we celebrate His perfect gift of love

He came to earth, to give His life and prepare a place for us,

So we could have a home with Him above

It’s Christmas time again, and now your home,
Your family is here so you will never be alone,

So tonight before you go to sleep, I’ll hold you in my arms,

And tell you from my heart,

I’ll tell you from my heart,

I wish you merry Christmas.

  1. celebrate adoption this season « Flinding’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

