I’ve done it agian

You may ask, why? Why has it been so long? And I would like to be able to say, “I’ll leave that question to the philosophers.” but I guess I’ll just explain it away by saying, I’ve been trying for three days to get a seat at this computer. Really. I wouldn’t feel obligated to mention it had I not been prodded on the subject. On another note, over the past few days I’ve been questioning my future involvement in cyberspace.

Happy birthday Ellen: today (oh wait, it was yesterday. Those of you reading this, just set your clocks back), December 10th, is my sister L.N.’s (Ellen’s) birthday. She turned Seventeen (sorry I told).

Her birthday was sort of anticlimactic. She got a new bookshelf from Trey. She got a couple of books and a CD from Mom; she got a Steven Curtis Chapman set. We went to Church. Had cake and ice cream. Nothing big. That’s kinda the way Ellen is: she has far more taste for simplicity than I do. She an outstanding person who is really content to not stand out, if you know what I mean. She doesn’t try to. That’s just one of the many reasons I’m proud just to call her my sister.

In many ways, Ellen reflects the person I want to be. She’s smart, fun, a great writer, she’s earnest and vehement about what she believes in. She good at what she puts her hand to. She loves the kids.

I stand completely amazed at God’s grace in granting me such a sister, and Pray that His grace would guide her in all the spheres of life she enters. Continue strong in the Faith Ellen. Do Hard Things. Happy Birthday and God bless.

 

  1. #1 by amongchosenones on December 12, 2008 - 8:40 am

    aaaahhhhh sigh…
    You described Ellen beautifully
    What a dependable rock she is in your family great personality, great taste too.
    Thank God for the gift of Ellen
    I love Ellen !!

  2. #2 by Hannah Baggett on December 12, 2008 - 9:18 am

    Happy Birthday Ellen!! Wow! What you wrote was so sweet and true!! Like Mrs. Heather said, “Thank God for the gift of Ellen, I love Ellen!!” That goes the same for me!!

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

