best wishes

 

I will be gone tomorrow, so I will go ahead and post this today.

Most of you I meant to write personally, but being the lazy slob that I am, never got to it. Many of you will never see this post. A lot of you will not care. But all of you are people that I love.

I want to wish a Merry Christmas, and a heartfelt Happy New Year, to:

My Family: Dad and Mom. Without you, I would not be here. Without your training, I never would have made this blog. Without your godly influence, it wouldn’t have really mattered. Emily, Trey, and Ellen. What’s a writer without critics? Thanks for being the best “fellow travellers.” To Hannah, Ben, and Sarah. Thanks for being my siblings. “Three little pigs” we call you: I want to be by your sides when the wolf comes around. To Annie and Mercy: Keep the blue eyes smiling. And to Josiah. Thanks for teaching me more about the love of Christ.

To my Grandparents: without y’all, Christmas would be torture. Thanks for making it something to look forward to rather than something to suffer through.

To Mr Anthony Mathenia. Thanks for making this year set apart from others. To Hannah, Ellie and Isaac. Isn’t the world small? Life is livened by y’all. To the Baggetts: Mr Chuck and Ms Elizabeth: thanks for giving me the honour of calling you my friends. To Malachi. The other side of the world would’ve been boring and lonely without you. To Hannah and Nathan: ticklish business, the internet is. Thanks for being friends off-screen. And to everyone I met in Ethiopia: Joe, your hospitality was awesome, and your friendship priceless. Josie, thanks for the car rides, and reminding me that some things are “meaningless”. To Rob, Chris, and Zane. Thanks for being there instead of here. It would have been sad without y’all.

To the leaders at Christ Church: the S. Family: Pastor John, Ms Misty, John David, Andrew, and Catherine. Thank you for showing Christ so vividly, and for the endless fountain of fun I’ll always find in your family. The Baggetts, just go back a paragraph. To Mr and Mrs Lanny A. Thank you for supporting me as I saved for the trip, and for being spiritual mentors and helpers. The influence your witness has had on me is measureless. Y’all are awesome! To the I. family, for always supplying me with fresh challenges toward godliness. To the Duleys. Thanks a thousand times for the continual fellowship, and the “Redneck Adventures” that you share.

To the other members of the Family who have helped me. Thanks to the S.’s: Ms Cathy, for reminding me by your witness to watch against pride. To Katie, for being a friend and “big Sister”. To Ann Marie, in whom I will always find a friendly face. To the M. family: Mr Trey, Ms Laura, and Lee. You have no idea how much I enjoy y’all’s company. To the B.s, (the “Donners”) Mr Ron, for always being fun and always having a good answer, to Mrs Brandon, Hannah, Ruth, Neo, Hallel, and Macrae. I don’t recall exactly what our life was like before God brought you into it, but it’s been great since. To the F. family: Mr Jeff, and Ms Charlotte. Pontotoc county would hardly have been worth it if it weren’t for y’all. Your hospitality is measureless. To Caleb, for being such a loving and challenging brother. To Jennifer and Julie, for loving Emma and Ellen and putting up with me. To the numerous Families around me: The R.’s, Mr Matt, and Ms Meagan, Miles, Milaca, and Maggie; the Young people, Darren, Jamie, Joseph, Katie, Savannah, Matt, Christa, etc. Thank you for “holding me accountable.” To each and everyone at Christ Church, New Albany. I never deserved to have God send each and every one of you into my life, but out of the riches of His love, He did. To all of you who strive in the blogging world, the Chamblee’s, the Blassingame’s, et cetera.

To Third Day, Casting Crowns, and Steven Curtis Chapman: believe me, our Christmas time would not be the same without y’all.

 

  1. #1 by Malachi on December 24, 2008 - 10:24 am

    Jacob, the other side of the world would have been boring without you too. I could not imagine going all those plane with you not there. I also couldn’t imagine the work days at Mr. Lanny’s without you there. Thanks for being a great friend, and Merry Christmas.

  2. #2 by Chuck on December 24, 2008 - 11:20 am

    Jacob,

    Thank you for your comments and your friendship. Merry Christmas.

  3. #3 by Flinding on December 25, 2008 - 12:24 pm

    Merry Christmas!
    Thanks, Malachi. I can’t tell you how thankful I am to know you.

  4. #4 by Hannah Baggett on December 26, 2008 - 11:21 am

    Jake,
    I am very happy to have met you and your family! I can’t begin to tell you how thankful I am to have y’all as my friends!!

    “ticklish business, the internet is.” Yes, I know.

    Merry (late) Christmas!!

    ~Hannah~

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

