my peace I’ve found

 

This came to me as I lay in bed one night. I thought of verse six first, and came up with the others to go around it. I don’t think I’ve ever completed a poem that fast before.

I looked for shelter, and for rest,

Where I might keep my selfishness.

I wished to be changed, but not made new,

I looked for peace, and ran into you.

 

I turned from you, and tried to flee,

Yet all the ways were closed from me,

My works seemed like the works of hell,

And I found a wretch when I turned to self.

 

Despair clung fast, and weighed me down,

And all of Hades had gathered round,

Saying “Sin is great, and hope is lost,

So come with us, and feel the cost.”

 

And in the day I bowed my head,

“My hope is gone, and peace is dead.”

But in the time I most felt sin,

The darkness fled, and love came in.

 

I doubt I shrank, “How could it be,

That love had come to rescue me?”

I raised my head, fighting despair,

I looked toward love, and Christ was there.

 

I begged for bread, a feast He gave,

My chains to lessen, and he came to save;

I wanted tolerance, and heard Love’s call,

I searched for little, He gave me all.

 

I long not for the taste of sin,

More than enough I’ve found in Him:

And though I turn a thousand times,

Safe in His arms, my peace I find.

 

  1. #1 by amongchosenones on December 27, 2008 - 8:39 pm

    Verse 7 is my favorite. Christ is sufficient for all longings.
    “The Lord is my Shepherd. I shall not want”

  2. #2 by rileydad on December 31, 2008 - 6:44 am

    Your poetry continues to challenge & inspire. As you grow in grace, you bless us all by seeing Christ in you.

    Love you, Son.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

