another late[st] b-day post

 

Happy Birthday Ben!: I’ve hit rock bottom. I have posted birthday posts one day late time and again. But never have I done so two days late. Till now. One would think I should just forget about it, but I can’t bear the thought. Oh, I can. But I won’t.

Two days ago (rolls eyes slightly) was my younger brother Ben’s twelfth birthday. It may mean nothing but an ordinary birthday. But then again, it could signify a whole lot.

In older days, and in ancient Israel, turning twelve was in important moment in turning into a man. In more modern terms, as the teen years are the launching pad for life, and how you spend them will deeply effect the rest of your life, so it might be said that turning twelve was the time when you stepped onto the launching pad. This, more than any other time, is the time when responsibility takes a greater hold. (I am trying to avoid thinking of the moment in Nathan Wilson’s parody, Right Behind, where all the eleven year olds at a twelfth birthday were Raptured because twelve was the “age of accountability.”) now, is the time that the shoes of manhood must begin to be stepped into.

But of course, life will not be looked at the same without Christ. Being home schooled (ahh), and brought up in a Christian home, can certainly instil Christian Principles, but they’ll never instil Christian motives. And without these, the first will eventually be alleviated. So, Ben, I would entreat you, for your soul’s sake, to not be satisfied with anything that doesn’t fill. Though the Bible and good books be read, outside of Christ we have not access to the same level of understanding that the Spirit can and will give. As you enter this new age, you will receive many exhortations to aim high. Remember, that Christ is the highest of goals. And it can be won.

Ben is a great kid, by the way. Under the exterior of wracking sarcasm and an eagerness to share news is an incredibly kind and sharing boy. He can also throw together a darn good Lego sculpture, when he puts his mind to it. I can’t imagine what a void would be in my life, and what a relatively boring life it would be, without Ben being thrown in as one of the main characters, to have an eternal impact on my life as well as live his own subplot (speaking in purely literary terms). I love Ben, and I pray that God may bless him as the years go by and draw him ever closer to Himself.

Anakin is followed: to pig heaven. Or maybe it’s that other place. In fact I’m fairly sure. Though this week was marked by the happy occasion of Ben’s birthday, it was also accompanied by the tragic (or, almost as happy) circumstance of Padme being slaughtered. Oh, Padme, never again will you dump your water out! Never again will I have to clean out your pen on a cold morning. No more will I come very close to injuring my foot against your most worthy hindquarters. You have followed Anakin to his place of demise, as love will always do. You don’t have to be alone! Oh, the thought! You have finished the course of a pig’s life! You were almost a noble as Tom himself (inside joke) when you left the home you knew to slain. Your eyes brave, your feet set strong, and your demeanour wholly that of a freaked-out swine, as we watched you roll out of the drive. Now soon, your purpose in life will be filled to the utmost. You will be sizzling in a skillet, soon to be consumed to the delight of those who served you for so long. I cannot even imagine the depths of fulfilment you must feel….uh, felt. Just think. It may be more than just fried sausage. Bar-B-Q pork chops! Ribs (slurping sound)! I may even take some of that fried sausage and mix it with some scrambled eggs and some cheese and mild salsa, were the sausage is nice and not lean, and the salsa fresh and the cheese is, well, cheesy and it’s so perky. I love that. (some of y’all will get it). Okay, now I’d better stop.

108-173

If it weren’t so late I’d have posted a exclusive inside story of the Christ Church New Albany, Henty Revival. Tune in next time.

 

  1. #1 by Emily on January 18, 2009 - 7:01 pm

    Yeah, you’d better stop. Not everyone appreciates those pig (or turkey, or chicken) jokes. Although I’d love to hear about the ‘Henty Revival’.
    ~Emma

  2. #2 by Hannah Baggett on January 22, 2009 - 11:30 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEN!!!

    Hannah

  3. #3 by Flinding on January 22, 2009 - 11:51 am

    Wow, Hannah, Thanks for leaving a note. I guess if I really do have a reader I may as well start writing again.

  4. #4 by Hannah Baggett on January 23, 2009 - 1:50 pm

    Ummm…yeah you still have me as a reader. Your not going to loose me that easily.

    Hannah

  5. #5 by Heather C Brandon on January 26, 2009 - 1:21 pm

    You still have the Brandon family fan club, brother.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

