iDeal Awards

 100_4316I know it’s a bit late, but with all the hype that our culture makes over the Academy Awards this time of year, I figured I would point out some the iDeal board’s favourite highlights of 2008. (anything marked with an * means that we were unable to determine where on the list that item should go, since it was competing with another.)

Top 5 notable events or changes of 2008:

1. Bringing Josiah into our family

2. Going to Ethiopia

3. Drawing closer to friends, especially at Church, and making new ones (Hosting book studies, joining bible studies, playing games, having people over, getting to work with people, &c)

4. Starting my book

5. Personhood kick-off

I’m sure there’s a lot more, but my memory fails me at this time.

Top 10 11 most influential books, besides God’s Word, I’ve read:

* The Pursuit of God A.W. Tozer

*Practicing the Presence of God Brother Lawrence

* Autobiography of George Muller
*Communion with God John Owen
* Shadow of the Almighty Elizabeth Elliot
* Practical Religion J.C. Ryle
* Knowing God J.I. Packer

* Expository Thoughts on the Gospels J.C. Ryle

* Do Hard Things Alex and Brett Harris

* The Imitation of Christ Thomas A Kempis

*Because We Love Him Clyde Cranford

Fiction Honorary Mention:

The Space Trilogy C.S. Lewis

Music Honourable mentions:

Revelation by Third Day

Peace On Earth by Casting Crowns

Relentless by Natalie Grant

iDeal Awards: Top Five Films, that I saw, of 2008:

1. WALL-E

2. Fireproof

* Bolt

* The Clone Wars

5. The Day the Earth Stood Still

Oh, by the way, I’m co-authoring/ creating another site. Check it out here.

  1. #1 by Katie on March 1, 2009 - 6:18 pm

    This has nothing to do with this post, but I have to tell you a conversation I just overheard. Two of our little cousins are here this afternoon, and they asked Lee where he was last night. “At Jacob’s house,” said he, as if there was no other name for it. Then there was a pause and Lee stated, “Jacob has a ton of sisters.” “How many?” said one of the cousins. “Like, about 14!” said Lee. Mama and I were nearly doubled over laughing, and I knew it was too good to not share with y’all. Now you know how kids see your family! 🙂

    -Katie

  2. #2 by Emily on June 22, 2010 - 11:27 am

    2010 half-year iDeal Awards?

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

