the sake of the cost

here we go again: The eggs have returned; the strange and frightening bunnies have emerged from hiding; poison in the shape food, commonly known as candy, or more specifically, marshmallow peeps, haunt the stores; and Christians still somehow think that all this means the world cares about Jesus.

I don’t really what line to take this Easter. Last year I talked about the origins of the terms Good Friday and Easter. It was obvious, from my brief studies, that the holidays were not of Biblical, or even traditionally Christian origins. But, as I said last year, a Sunday set aside to take communion and remember the Resurrection doesn’t seem like a totally bad thing.

I think people do a good job of acknowledging that Jesus died and rose again; but they do not want to live with the implications thereof. I’m not just pointing towards Joe Christian, either. This is about people close to me; in my Church, in family, friends: I’m finding, especially at this time, that a worse case is sitting beneath this laptop, typing slowly. I’m not saying that I myself, or any others, are as bad in those outward sins that so disgust us. But I believe that, having seen Christ, our responsibility is greater. We’ve been given much; so, much is required of us. Christ didn’t die so that we could go hunt eggs on Sunday, then forget about Him; He paid the cost that bought us from our sin, yet we live as though He was buying our sin for us. How can we think that He didn’t give enough, when His blood went so far beyond that! There are not “extras,” in our salvation, but there are riches in Christ from which we have yet to partake. We haven’t seen it all; we haven’t even finished looking at what we saw from the start. (Thank God, when we were blind, our eyes were not opened and turned toward the sun. They were opened to gaze upon God’s grace, and the longer we hold them open, the more clarity we see with. Finally, it seems, the great landscape opens before us. We prepare to explore, wondering how we will see it all, when we turn our eyes to the left. Then we see yet another scene, part of that landscape which we have not yet gazed upon. After looking upon that till dazzled, we wished to explore those ever rolling hills and Streams. But then we look on all sides, and the view is the same. We don’t know what to do at this point. “What do I do now?” we ask. And the voice of Him that opened our eyes answers clearly, “Explore.” We, overwhelmed, ask, “Where do I begin?” then the One who spoke the command takes our hand and answers, “I will lead you.”)

God help us to grasp the infinity of the cost. We don’t’ know the weight of our sin completely, because we don’t know how great God is. Just so we can’t know the cost that Christ paid until we know the depth of our sin. This Easter, let us hold on to what we do know: probably the deepest part of what Christ went through that can be understood by the Christian is His separation from the Father. If you know what it is to not feel God in the way that you love, then meditating on this in particular should be helpful.

Well, I wrote the first half on a roll (at least, in the speed with which ideas came), then I came back six hours later, after going to Church this morning, and I’m not running on the same inspiration. So I’ll stop here, wishing you an Anglo-Saxon holiday in which, no matter the roots, Christ might be made more real to you.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

