MSU blues

Author’s not[e]: This was intended to be put up just shy of a week ago. Sorry for the convenience.

Oh great. It’s this psycho again. I know it’s been a while since I’ve entered this realm, and despite what my sister may say to the contrary, it was for good reasons. However, after some re-evaluation, the reasons for getting on outweighed those against. But I will not bore you with my ramblings on those lines..

If you have been keeping up with the Personhood blog, perhaps having been mislead into thinking you will attain important information thereon, you’ll see the last thing I wrote was about working on college campuses. I took my third swing at that yesterday, this time working at one of the biggest Universities in the country. Yeah, MSU. Doom on me. We headed up that way sometime between 12 and 1300 hours. Got there at two. First things first: find the Student Union.

But dad called and asked us to find Lee Hall (first thing second). So we passed the Union, and drove madly around campus (hat’s off to the driver) guided by a map that Jennifer gave us. It distinctly said that Lee Hall was next to the drill field. Obviously the map’s fault, we spent fifteen minutes looking before we asked a somewhat knowledgeable looking student. She ignored us (should’ve known. Females are so passive) so we tried a somewhat less likely looking fellow who wasn’t doing anything. He informed us:

That at the end of the street there was the opposite of Lee Hall, it looked like Lee Hall, only it was at the opposite end of the street, and Lee Hall was at the other opposite.

That we just need to go down to where the Burger King was and it was near there, but we would have to find some place else to park cause we couldn’t park at that establishment. And he said something about Lee Street. By now we’re like What? and then we were like Huh? and then we got a little bored.

Long and short of it, I think he told us to get lost. Well, okay, he didn’t actually say that, but we did follow his directions. And we got lost. Finally, we asked a college worker. “Lee Hall? It’s this building right here. But you’re gonna need to get a parking pass.” gotcha. Not. After spending twenty minutes at Parking Services (first things third), we landed at the Student Union. By now, most of the students were in class. But that was okay, there were enough people to keep us busy. I got to listen to a guy explain his Constitutional Law class to me for a full fives minutes, and hear how he was a fan of citizen initiatives. He didn’t sign, but he was happy to share his wisdom with me, and I left the experience with less life to live than I had before. I also had an enormously fun time standing by as a guy and girl argued about signing. There are several other pleasant and disagreeable experiences that could be added, but I won’t get into them. After receiving some reinforcements, we moved on to Lee Hall, where some Mike Huckabee shindig was gonna be. Lee Hall was a pleasant place to stand by, and was right by the Student Union (no comment). With a veritable army consisting of Trey, Ben, my Dad, Caleb, Jamie, Mr Steve, and yours truly*, we ruled the day. More or less. There really wasn’t much to do. But we had fun walking around and asking whoever chanced to pass by. After the Huckabee thingamajig, we really got busy. Trey and Caleb walked around the drill field, and Dad, Jamie, and Mr Steve went back to the Student Union, to keep an array of benches from taking off. Always the useful one, I chose to stand up next to the benches. Until I got a little uncomfortable. Then I sat.

Having left that dull place before a rather disreputable presentation got underway, we headed to Barnes & Noble. There was no one there, but we asked anyone we bumped into on the way. And buddy, when a group of seven males, ranging in age from fifty to twelve, ask you if you’re a voter, that’s intimidating.

I was going to write something else in this post, but I forgot it yesterday. And what I just wrote was about as uninteresting as counting ear and nose hairs. Sorry.

*Note: When I say “yours” in your truly, it only applies to a few of the readers. No taking it up in court.

  1. #1 by Katie on April 30, 2009 - 10:38 pm

    I have to say, that although I’ve never counted my nose or ear hairs, I’m pretty sure that THIS was more interesting than THAT. Apparently though, you’re an expert in this area? I guess there has to be talent in every area, even in counting-of-nose-hairs. Way to go for embracing your talents.
    Sorry, it’s late, and I’m so sleepy I shouldn’t be writing period. Actually, I’m trying to ignore a paper due tomorrow which isn’t finished, and teasing you is a nice alternative.

  2. #2 by Jake on May 1, 2009 - 3:28 pm

    Hmm. One, two, three, four, five….

  3. #3 by Brandon on May 2, 2009 - 2:28 pm

    So, the girl snubbed you and the guy got you lost. Which one is worse? 😀

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

