talks from a pastor’s study (orsomethinglikethat)

IMG_4391

Before our pastor preaches or teaches a class of any sort, the pressure that is on him is almost visible. And understandably so. I haven’t ever preached, but I somehow know how he feels. sortakinda.

But after whatever he’s teaching has drawn to a close, and some of that pressure is gone, he takes on a new…form. ifyoucanputitthatway. He tends to be very good-humoured, or at least as long as he remains in public. And at least he seems good humoured, to everyone but the “victim.” That’snotafunposition.

Well, to bring guilt against myself, I remember quite well some things he had to say about blogs. Let’s see if I can remember… (I’ll have to paraphrase).

The subject of blogs had somehow come up after a study. “He thinks it’s ridiculous to have a blog. He doesn’t read them.”

Myself, and the only other girl there who had a blog at that time, began to fear lest he should name us as guilty parties. Atleast,Idid.I’mnotsureabouther.

“People who have blogs should turn off the computer monitor while they type, so they can look at their reflection. It’s like they’ve got to publish their most private thoughts for the whole world to see, like an online journal of everything that’s going on in their life.”

“They can set up a mirror next to the computer, and type while they look at themselves, ‘I had a thought today, as I sat gazing at myself….'”

It went on, but my memory banks are leaky. But you saw his point. He thinks blogs are stupid.

He’sprobablyright…..

Ofcoursethat’sratherself-comdemningwhenithinkaboutit….

Imustbeexemptforsomereason…..

OrImaybei’mjuststupid.

  1. #1 by Heather C Brandon on September 3, 2009 - 10:59 am

    I have never seen my reflection in my monitor. I wonder how old his is?
    There really are a TON of useless, babbling blogs out there. Useless because they have nothing eternal at all about them. They get on my nerves as well & I have no time for them as well. The verse in Ecclesiates comes to mind, “the more you say, the less people listen.” Should we not rather be like Samuel whose not one word fell to the ground?
    I suppose the reason we started our blogs is to try & glorify God in our own little way. When you are full, it has to spill out ! “Encourage one another daily, while it is called today.” “Spur one another on to good works.” “Let your light so shine before men…”I I know there are many blogs out there created for self worship, that do not point to Christ in their posts, only to their cleverness so you’ll worship them. Didn’t you start this blog because you wanted to share your love for Christ in words? It isn’t like you have a publisher. You’re baby-stepping. “Iron sharpens iron.” I’ve been edified. I do appreciate your blog.

  2. #2 by flinding on September 3, 2009 - 11:54 am

    Thanks.
    And for anyone who may be wondering, this post was just nostalgia. It wasn’t intended to be satirical or anything of the nature.

  3. #3 by Katie on September 3, 2009 - 12:00 pm

    I talked to John about blogs before I got one, and he said that in some cases he felt it could really be a good witness to those reading – not that you have to preach at people via the blog, but just that your love for Christ can be seen in the midst of the everyday, fun stuff.

    Not to give you a big head or anything, but I am often encouraged and blessed by what you write. (When I’m not vastly frustrated with it.)

    Just so you know.

  4. #4 by abbygrace42801 on September 4, 2009 - 10:20 am

  5. #5 by Emily on September 4, 2009 - 10:22 am

    Oops, that was me.

  6. #6 by JennyLF on September 4, 2009 - 8:57 pm

    Frank, why dost thou have a pic of one of our Pastor’s pipes? He has those for romantic British reasons you know, and rarely smokes them (I won’t go into that issue at the moment…just wondering).

    And Mrs. Heather B. is right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

