allured into the desert

I think, right here and write now, it would be best to let someone else speak for me, till my own ideas are translated into type, and I don’t recklessly go making people mad.

If you read this, please don’t just skim it over:

Allured into a desert,

With God alone, apart,

There spirit meeteth spirit,

There speaketh heart to heart.

Far, far on that untrodden shore,

God’s secret place I find;

Alone I pass the golden door,

The dearest left behind.

There God and I-none other;

Oh far from men to be!*

Nay, midst the crowd and tumult,

Still Lord alone with Thee.

Still folded close upon Thy breast,

In field and mart and street,

Untroubled in that perfect rest,

That isolation sweet.

Oh God, thou art far other,

That men have dreamed or taught,

Unspoken in all language,

Unpictured in  all thought.

Thou God art God- he only learns

What that great name must be,

Whose raptured heart within him burns,

Because he walks with Thee.

Stilled by that wondrous presence,

That tenderest embrace,

The years of longing over,

Do we behold Thy face.

We seek no more than Thou hast given,

With ask no vision fair,

The precious blood has opened heaven,

And we have found Thee there.

O weary souls, draw near to Him,

To you I can but bring,

One drop of that great ocean,

One blossom of that spring,

Sealed with His kiss, my lips are dumb

My soul in awe is still,

Let him that is athirst but come,

And freely drink his fill.

Gerhard Tersteegen, 1697-1769

IMG_4118

*Now I’m not at all advocating a “flight from humanity” at this point. But that’s not what this poem is speaking of here. It talks of abiding in God. God help us to be more like Christ, by remaining with Him. He commanded us to “abide in Him.” Sinner, none of us can do this apart from Christ. Not even the Christian, if He doesn’t come with the blood of Christ. Let us thank Him.

Good poem, by the way. (But I highly doubt I’m going to add “Gerhard” to my future kid’s name list.)

  1. #1 by Tylerious on September 6, 2009 - 7:19 pm

    If you’re still planning on having kids, you’re probably not fleeing humanity. 🙂

  2. #2 by Courtney on October 21, 2009 - 8:28 pm

    You’re not adding Gerhard to your kid’s names list?! Poor kid. He’s missing out.

  3. #3 by flinding on October 22, 2009 - 11:47 am

    I don’t know. Tersteegen would probably make a great middle name.

  4. #4 by Heather B on October 24, 2009 - 4:05 am

    Whose raptured heart within him burns,

    Because he walks with Thee.

    The years of longing over,

    Do we behold Thy face.

    These 2 segments are awesome! It reminds me of the book, “The True Christian’s Love for the Unseen Christ,” which is one of my all time favorites. “to you who believe, this stone is PRECIOUS” 1 Peter 2:7

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

