postal preferences

This is addressed to my twenty-five or so readers: my ten-or-so consistent followers; and my five or so consistant participants.

Lemme know.

  1. #1 by Emily on August 2, 2010 - 7:52 am

    I want to vote at least four times:
    Personal
    Humorous
    What you’ve been doing, but more concise (much, much more concise. You’ve been a bit rambly lately)
    Poetry

    maybe I should have voted ‘other’: a good mix.

  2. #2 by Young Sailor on August 5, 2010 - 9:25 pm

    Oooh ooh ooh ooh! Currently the most votes are in favour of longer posts. Ha

  3. #3 by Emily on August 6, 2010 - 8:46 pm

    ‘Concise’ is not synonymous with ‘short’. You’re a great writer, but you’ve slipped up recently in the style department (it’s not the content or length). I’ve recommended this piece to you several times:

    http://ylcf.org/2006/09/elisabeth-elliot-on-writing/

    Read it.

  4. #4 by Young Sailor on August 6, 2010 - 9:45 pm

    Very well, I concede the point. But for your benefit as well as that of any other who may be reading, I’ll attribute this unfortunate shift mainly to the following reasons:
    1: I’ve not been writing as much, both on my blog (besides poetry and the like) and especially in the various and sundry other forms which I’ve have generally employed.
    2: The way I reason and debate and wrestle things out in my mind, and even in writing, has shifted from me thinking in terms of written words and more in terms of spoken communication.
    3: And, the big one, I’ve really allowed other people’s blogging styles to influence my own. The problem there is of course that this particular medium is mostly personality driven, thus leaving very little room for imitation.

    As I was typing this, Ben looked over my shoulder and said, “Wow. Dissertation.”

  5. #5 by Heather Brandon on August 7, 2010 - 5:49 am

    Too much humor, too shallow. Too much serious stuff, you lose people. Just keep it mixed up, I’d say…

    • #6 by Young Sailor on August 7, 2010 - 5:52 am

      To much personal, and the author is disinterested….

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

