Let sweet music accompany our souls

We esteem every day alike, but still, as the season suggests thoughts of Jesus, let us joyfully remember our dear Redeemer’s glorious birth. Who but He was ever longed for by such a multitude of hearts? When did angels indulge in midnight songs, or did God hang a new star in the sky? To whose, cradle did rich and poor make so willing a pilgrimage, and offer such hearty and unsought oblations? Well may earth rejoice; well may all men cease their labor to celebrate “the great birthday” of Jesus. Let gladness rule the hour; let holy song and sweet heart music accompany our soul in the raptures of joy.
–CH Spurgeon

  1. #1 by Emily on December 9, 2010 - 12:57 pm

    Funny that this begins with the reference to Romans 14; Tyler & I read that in family worship last night and were discussing it in relation to our observance/non-observance of Christmas.

  2. #2 by Young Sailor on December 9, 2010 - 4:53 pm

    Hmmm…I see.
    I don’t think it invalidates what Prince Spurgeon was saying. Christmas, as a feast wherein we as good Westerners celebrate, and group with family and friends, is in no way invalid. We are, in the NT, not under obligation to observe feast days, but it is not essentially any more than we could say such of Thanksgiving. Granted, most of the whatnot surrounding the actual event of Christ’s birth is very off, and tends to cause men’s minds to view religion more as a quaint fairy tale like practice and not that which has to do with real spiritual and historical truth.
    That being said, the argument that is held forth against any celebration of Christ’s birth, whether at this time or any other, is not to be done because we find no such practice in the New Testament, cannot be credited. The Angel’s set store about the incarnation, and so ought we. (this was my thought even before I read this Spurgeon bit).
    I’m sure I’ll write against the negative connotations of Yuletide celebrations and stereotypes someday, but I despise being a wet blanket.

  3. #3 by Emily on December 9, 2010 - 10:50 pm

    Dude, you just *assumed* that I meant that negatively. When I say ‘observance/non-observance’ I should clarify that we’re leaning toward observance (uh, don’t tell Daddy :P), only in a somewhat different manner than is usually practiced (aka don’t expect presents from us).

    Perhaps you should write this one down: Never assume.

    Daddy: That ‘don’t tell daddy’ bit was completely tongue-in-cheek. But still, don’t tell Annie and Mercy.

  4. #4 by Young Sailor on December 10, 2010 - 10:07 am

    Sorry that my reply was so jumbled. I find it much more difficult to impart what I’m thinking when I am hammering iPhone letters quickly that when I am staring at a laptop keyboard.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

