sweet ellen and the voyage of the dawn treader

The following is two part, so bear with me.
First, let me tell you a little about Ellen. On this day nineteen years ago, a beautiful, loving, bright, little girl was born into the world. She preceded a dull, rather dim, albeit energetic young boy by a year and a half. She grew, and grew, and learned, played with her siblings, took care of young kids as soon as they she could lift, and tried her best to exemplify selflessness and logical thinking long before such concepts even occurred to me.
Gryuygfrrytxdseyy(fast forward noise)
Today, a beautiful, neighbor loving, Christ adoring young woman turns nineteen. She’s a leader amongst her siblings, from to two to seventeen, and she lives out what she so strongly believes more than most of her contemporaries put together. She is cherished by every young kid whom she comes into contact; she is set to marry a young man who matches her in almost every respect, save his faults (sorry Caleb). She treasures books, loves hot tea, and hates nasty movies (disregard later part of post). And she has, in some way, managed to encourage a fumbling seventeen year-old who have to attempt to govern the older sibling at home field alone.
Ellen, we love. And though you will be moving e’er long, as concerns the preceding nineteen years of our family’s life, we proudly say: “We never could have done it without you.”

Aannndd… I just walked out of the latest Hollywood rendition of a CS Lewis classic, the Voyage of the Dawn Treader.
I Cried. Because I felt Narnia more than any other of the films thus far. Without a doubt, the departures from the original story were worse than any if the preceding. The Islands were shuffled, extra characters thrown in, many removed, not to mention that eerie green midst that proceeded from Dark Island, and tempted and frightened all around. And yes, because if the rough deadlines, the CGI and 3D was below average.
In it’s defense, it preserved the spirit of the story favorably better than it’s predecessors. It was a lot of good fun all round, including riveting fights on sea and land, overly dramatic locations, great music, and of course, those beautiful lines about and from Aslan.
So, if you haven’t yet, I recommend this picture. Just… Not in 3D.

  1. #1 by Jordan on December 10, 2010 - 3:20 pm

    Ah, I was anxious to see y’all’s opinion on the movie. I’m pretty much the same way with it. Not as good as LWW, but waaaaaay better than PC.

    In Mr. Gresham’s defense, when he came to Tupelo for AFA’s prescreening he said he fought tooth and nail (I’m paraphrasing here) to keep with the book, but it was either compromise or no movie. So it’s Fox’s fault.

    And happy birthday to Ellen.

  2. #2 by Emily on December 10, 2010 - 3:25 pm

    Is it just me, or did you just fast-forward and rewind Trey and I out of existence?

    Uh, to Mr Gresham: I’d have gone with no movie.

  3. #3 by Young Sailor on December 10, 2010 - 3:43 pm

    Jordan
    I didn’t say LWW was better; I think this was probably equal.

  4. #4 by Jordan on December 10, 2010 - 3:51 pm

    Oh. Okay, then that’s where I differ. LWW was the best, to me anyway.

  5. #5 by Candace Riley on December 10, 2010 - 4:46 pm

    🙂 Your story of Ellen was great–made me cry a bit. Thanks for posting!

  6. #6 by hannahrileytoo on December 10, 2010 - 5:17 pm

    i liked that movie. and i really like that girl!!! 🙂

  7. #7 by Young Sailor on December 10, 2010 - 7:55 pm

    And, I forgot to mention, the fact that it had fun action without a Human body count in the six figures is another thing that made this better than PC

  8. #8 by Courtney on December 11, 2010 - 7:08 pm

    I loved it! I’d say it was by far the best Narnia movie! I thought it stuck pretty close to the book, but it has been a while since I’ve read it. So maybe I’m just forgetful.

  9. #9 by Young Sailor on December 11, 2010 - 7:21 pm

    I’m rather inclined to believe you are forgetful, Court. Sorry

  10. #10 by Charity on December 11, 2010 - 9:36 pm

    I just saw it! I am not sure what to think of it.
    The Seven Swords Plot was interesting, although I wish the movie was closer to the book.
    I think the entire voyage went by way to fast. The book is a lot to put in a movie, but I wish the movie was a longer.
    Although I like it a lot better then Prince Caspian. I never really cared that much for the movie Prince Caspian, but the book was good.
    I think LWW and VDT are about equal.

  11. #11 by Heather Brandon on January 11, 2011 - 1:47 pm

    I wholeheartedly agree your family couldn’t have done it w/out Ellen! What a blessing & example she has been! To more than your family, I must say!

    I loved this Narnia the most because like Courtney, I think it was because I’d forgotten what was in the book. I like what they did w/ Aslan, although I was a little disappointed they didn’t do more w/ Eustace getting his scales off. You only have so many minutes to cover a whole book & Hollywood isn’t interested in pushing Christianity. Oh well, one good biscuit in Hollywood’s garbage can 😉

  1. My first time…. « The H Files Blog

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

