if…

If I abase myself before the King of Heaven,
And every time I walk into His sanctuary am impressed that He doesn’t need me…
And then I look around at my brothers and sisters, and think in my heart how lucky they are to have such a strong saint as I in their midst…
If I offer myself as a servant to the Fatherless, if I pour myself out on the streets, if I am strict to live in accordance with what principles are laid before me….

And then I am frustrated, angered, or annoyed by my surrounding church members who just don’t get it….
Then I know nothing of Calvary love, and am become entirely unacquainted with the barest foundations of the Gospel: no matter how many eloquent words I say, or how many good things I write on my blog, or books I read, or feelings I have.

  1. #1 by Emily on February 19, 2011 - 11:19 pm

    I lak. Good reminder, bro.

  2. #2 by RileyDad on February 20, 2011 - 12:06 am

    Convicting. And encouraging
    (convicts me of how much this sounds like me)
    Encourages me to look to Christ again

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

