prayer for a wandering mind

The following is written in more modern language than I generally try to adopt. How hard, but how crucial it is to lay hold of the Objectives in the subjective of renewing our minds.

My Lord you know my deepest thoughts,
The pride I can’t conceal
The selfishness haunts my heart,
That murders, rapes, and steals.
The lie that says You’re not enough,
Tis wicked unbelief,
You’re privy Lord, to every thought,
That wrought my Saviour’s grief.
~
The idols I had once embraced,
Now leave me not alone,
They ever rear there ugly heads,
And seek to take Your throne
The grieving that assails my heart,
When so easily enticed,
Is tenfold in remembering,
These sins were laid on Christ.
~
Lord send the Spirit to my heart,
To raise the “Abba” cry,
Remind me I am bound no more,
To Old-Life’s fleshy lies
The union I now have with Christ,
Now living force can part
So rebel thoughts I now deny
To You belongs my heart.

Via WordPress for iOS

20110502-125132.jpg

  1. #1 by Jordan on May 2, 2011 - 12:42 pm

    This is really good.

Leave a Reply

  • an overarching philosophy (for me, anyway)

    "I find that when I am most helped, I write: and that by writing, I am helped." Augustine of Hippo
  • sithlordbfw
  • Quote of the Day

    “We love the old saints, missionaries, martyrs, and reformers. Our Luthers, Bunyans, Wesleys and Asburys, etc... We will write their biographies, reverence their memories, frame their epitaphs, and build their monuments. We will do anything except imitate them. We cherish the last drop of their blood, but watch carefully over the first drop of our own.”
    - A. W. Tozer
  • My archives: a three-year treasure chest of, well, rambling

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Mostviewed(recently)(onthissiteanyway)

  • Lately

    May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • a

  • Top Rated

  • Today’s Hits and Yesterday’s Favourites

    SermonAudio.com MP3 Sermons

